Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs
   disclaimer

Business Information


Freedom of Information Act 
Payment for Services


Medical Record Information

To obtain a copy of a medical record, the patient must fill out a Medical Records Release, which gives the Virginia Beach Department of Public Health permission to copy this record.  If the patient is a minor, this release must be signed by a parent or guardian. If guardian has custody of the child, that person must present proper court papers signifying child custody and identification must be presented.

Download Medical Release Form 
Download Instructions for Medical Release Form

There is no charge for a copy of an immunization record.

If the record is to be sent directly to a physician or health facility, the patient must provide the address where the record is to be sent. There is no charge to send a record to a physician or health facility.

There is a charge for a record copy if this copy is to be provided to the patient. Proper identification and payment for the record must be given at the time the record is picked up. The fee schedule for record is:

  • $0.50 per page (up to 50 pages, or S25.00)>
  • $0.25 per page (51 pages and up) 
  • $5.00 search/handling fee for records on-site
  • $10 search/handling fee for records in storage
  • All appropriate postage and shipping costs will be charged back to the requestor.

Fees must be paid in advance of record receipt by requestor.


Back to top of page


Virginia Freedom of Information Act

Under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and District policies:

  • Requests for public records may be made verbally or in writing
  • All requests must be reasonably specific (address, date, establishment, etc.)
  • We will respond to requests within five working days
  • We may seek reimbursement for costs incurred in accessing and supplying records
  • Records that do not exist will not be created in response to a request
  • Most medical and personnel records are protected by federal and state privacy laws and therefore are excluded from the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act
  • Arrangements to inspect public records should be made with the Business Manager

Back to top of page


Payment for Services

For services that are chargeable, the Virginia Beach Department of Public Health will accept the following forms of payment:

  • Cash VisaMastercard
  • Personal or business check
  • Money order

Dental and Medical Services will be billed to third party insurers when applicable.
The charge for returned checks is $50.00

 

Last Updated: 09-02-2011

Printable Version

E-mail This Page