Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs | Data
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter YouTube

Virginia Trauma Centers

Virginia has 18 designated Trauma Centers (Map & List)

6 - Level I Centers (highest Level)

Carilion Roanoke
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Sentara Norfolk General Hospital
VCU Health Systems
VCU Health Systems-Adult, Pediatric, and Burn


7– Level II Centers

Centra Lynchburg General Hospital
Chippenham Medical Center (Richmond)
Henrico Doctors Hospital, Forest
Mary Washington – Fredericksburg
Reston Hospital Center
Riverside Regional Medical Center


5 – Level III Centers

Carilion New River
Johnston-Willis Hospital  
Lewis Gale Hospital Montgomery
Sentara Va Beach General 
Southside Regional Medical Center


In Virginia the process of designation is entirely voluntary on the part of the hospitals. It is meant to identify those hospitals that will make a commitment to provide a higher level of care for the multiple injured patients and who welcome public acknowledgment of that capability. Knowledge of trauma care capabilities, with improved field categorization and prehospital capabilities through trauma triage plans will help all those involved in the trauma care delivery system make decisions that are in the best interest of the patient.


Virginia Trauma Center standards are based upon national standards put forth by the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Emergency Physicians. The Virginia standards are reviewed and updated based on changes in the national standards as well as the evolving needs of the Trauma System in Virginia.


Last Updated: 11-17-2016

Printable Version

E-mail This Page