Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs
   disclaimer

Mail It In


Office of Vital Records
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1000
General Information Number: 804-662-6200

We encourage you to mail your certificate request to our office. We require a signed application or letter, legible identification documentation and payment before we can process your order. Please include the following information for the respective requests:

Please include your return address and sign your request. 


Birth Certificate

Name at birth
Date of birth
Place of birth
Mother's Maiden name
Father's name
Relationship to the person on the certificate
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone
number

- Stillbirth Certificate

Death Certificate

Name of deceased
Date of death
Place of death
Relationship to the deceased
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone number

Marriage & Divorce Records

Name
Date of marriage/divorce
Place of marriage/divorce
Relationship to the person on the certificate
Reason for the certificate
Area code + daytime phone number

Please include your return address and sign your request.


Virginia statutes require a fee of $12.00 be charged each certification of a vital check record or for a search of the files when no certification is made. Please make check or money order payable to the State Health Department. There is a $30.00 service charge for returned checks. METHOD OF PAYMENT - CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY ( do not send CASH through the mail). PLEASE REMEMBER TO SIGN THE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.

For all birth records requiring no amendments/changes (adoptions, paternity establishment, name changes, etc.), and for all marriage records, divorce records, death records and non-automated birth records, please allow delivery time of 2 to 4 weeks from the date the request is received in this office.

For all documents that require amendments/changes (adoptions, paternity establishment, name changes, etc.), please allow our staff 12 weeks from the date the request is received in this office for the staff to respond to your request.

We are aggressively pursuing a program to get certificates to our clients as quickly as possible and we are working hard to reduce the turnaround time for automated searches.


Last Updated: 08-03-2011

Printable Version

E-mail This Page