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Protocol for the Administration of Influenza Vaccine to Minors by Licensed Pharmacists, 
Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, or Eligible Certified Emergency Medical 

Technicians* 
 

Introduction 
 
The Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) recommends that influenza vaccine be 
administered annually to children ages 6 months to 18 years of age with particular focus on those 
who are at higher risk for influenza complications. CDC notes that children under 6 months of 
age should not receive influenza vaccination. Prevention and Control of Seasonal Influenza with 
Vaccines: Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices — United 
States, 2016-17 Influenza Season 
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/rr/rr6505a1.htm?s_cid=rr6505a1_w  
 
During the 2009 General Assembly Session, HB 2447 was enacted allowing a prescriber to 
authorize the administration of influenza vaccine to minors by a licensed pharmacist, registered 
nurse or licensed practical nurse under the direction and immediate supervision of a registered 
nurse, when the prescriber is not physically present.  During the 2010 General Assembly, HB 
173 was enacted allowing a prescriber (Operational Medical Director) to authorize certified 
emergency medical technicians-intermediate or emergency medical technicians-paramedic to 
administer influenza vaccine to minors when the prescriber is not physically present.  Consent 
must be obtained from the minor’s parent, guardian, or person standing in loco parentis. The 
following guidelines apply to the administration of influenza vaccine to minors by the 
aforementioned parties and are consistent with applicable guidelines developed by the Centers 
for Disease Control and Prevention. Standing orders for administering influenza vaccine to 
children and adolescents template is attached. 
 
"Definition of “Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant to §§ 54.1-3303 and 
54.1-3408 to issue a prescription for a covered substance or a practitioner licensed in another 
state to so issue a prescription for a covered substance. Chapter 34 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia The Drug Control Act. 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/pharmacy_laws_regs.htm 
 
Providing Vaccine Information Statements  
 
Before administering influenza vaccine, you are required by law to provide a copy of the most 
current CDC Vaccine Information Statement (VIS) to the child’s parent/legal guardian. Non-
English speaking parents/guardians should be provided with a copy of the VIS in their native 
language. These can be found at http://www.immunize.org/vis/.  The respective Fact Sheet 
must be reviewed with the parent/guardian to confirm their understanding of the benefits and 
risks of the intended vaccine (in their native language).  You must also record in the minor’s 
chart and keep a second copy at the administering location the date that the vaccine was 
administered, the route, dose, site, manufacturer and lot number, the publication date of the VIS, 
along with the name and title of the person administering the vaccine.  Certified emergency 
medical technicians-intermediate and emergency medical technicians-paramedic are required to 
record administration of influenza vaccine in the Virginia Immunization Information System 
(VIIS). 
 
 
 

http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/rr/rr6505a1.htm?s_cid=rr6505a1_w
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3303/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3408/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/pharmacy_laws_regs.htm
http://www.immunize.org/vis/
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Screening for Contraindications and Precautions 
 
Every provider who administers vaccines should screen every child before giving a vaccine dose. 
A vaccine should not be administered when a contraindication is present. Children with a 
reported acute illness with or without fever should not be vaccinated until their symptoms have 
abated. Influenza vaccine can be administered to any child aged >6 months who does not have 
contraindications to the vaccine. 
  
Influenza Vaccine Administration 
 
Each healthcare provider should follow standard precautions to minimize the risks of spreading 
disease during vaccine administration. Proper vaccine handling and preparation is critical to 
maintaining the integrity of the vaccine during transfer from the manufacturer’s vial to the 
syringe and ultimately to the child. Recommendations for storage, handling, and administration 
of each influenza vaccine are found in each vaccine’s package insert.  
 
The multi-dose vial, pre-filled syringe or sprayer must be inspected for defects, the expiration 
date noted and the lot number documented prior to administration of the vaccine. The seven 
rights of medication will be followed when administering the vaccine. The seven rights are: right 
child, right vaccine, right route, needle length, and technique, right dosage, right time (correct 
age, appropriate interval), right site, and the right documentation. To ensure optimal results 
follow the currently recommended influenza vaccine schedule for the different age groups.  
 
CDC recommends that all persons remain 15-30 minutes post vaccination for observation after 
receiving the influenza vaccine, in the event a child experiences an adverse reaction. Every 
provider who administers the influenza vaccine should have procedures in place for the 
emergency care of a child who experiences an anaphylactic reaction. Epinephrine and equipment 
for maintaining an airway should be available for immediate use. All vaccine providers should 
be familiar with the office emergency plan, and should be certified in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation. 
 
A list of each vaccine’s manufacturer/distributor’s telephone number is found on the CDC 
website at http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/F/contact-
info-manufact.pdf  
 
The National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act requires healthcare providers to report selected 
events occurring after vaccination to Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS). More 
information about VAERS, including reporting forms, can be obtained by calling the VAERS 
information line at 800-822-7967 (M-F 9:00 – 5:00 EST), or by visiting 
https://vaers.hhs.gov/index   
 
Scheduling 
 
Parents of children needing a second dose of influenza vaccine should be advised of the need to 
return after the recommended interval and given an appointment before leaving the site. All 
parents should be advised that annual influenza vaccination is recommended by the CDC.  
 
Attachment: Standing Orders for Administering Influenza Vaccines to Children & Adolescents 
 
* Approved by the Board of Health and the Board of Nursing, September, 2016 
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