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BEDDING & UPHOLSTERED 
FURNITURE PROGRAM

SANITIZER’S GUIDE
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/bedding-and-upholstered-furniture/
Virginia Department of Health
Bedding and Upholstered Furniture Program
109 Governor St, Rm. 521
Richmond, VA 23219

bufi@vdh.virginia.gov
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The Bedding & Upholstered Furniture Inspection Program (BUFI) protects the health and safety of Virginians by helping to ensure that consumers of used BUFI goods receive clean and safe products.
What items do I have to sanitize?

            Pillows, couches and upholstered chairs, cushions of any type, mattresses, comforters and quilts, box springs, car seats, baby strollers or play pens with filling material, bean bag chairs, wheelchairs, padded benches, ottomans or footstools, padded office chairs, padded headboards, and any other item with stuffing or filling that can be used by a person or child for sleeping or reclining purposes

Companies involved in commerce are required by law to sanitize previously used bedding and upholstered furniture before the items can be presented for sale or rental, or given away.*
Sanitization must be conducted by a method approved by the BUFI program and performed according to the directions specified by the manufacturer of the sanitizing product. Examples of approved products include Steri-Fab and Microban
A log of all sanitized items must be kept indicating identification of item, date sanitized, and date rented or sold. Log your items as soon as you sanitize them.
Sanitized items must be kept separate from unsanitized items by a dividing wall or a distance of at least 20 feet.
Delivery vehicles must be sanitized in between the transportation of used/unsanitized and new goods.
Mattresses shall be stored at least six inches from the floor, allowing for a four inch separation around the four sides of the mattress.
Storage and workroom areas must be clean and insect free, and pets are not allowed in these areas.

All sanitized materials must be tagged with a yellow law label printed to regulatory standards on durable material. Label must be at least six square inches in size:
	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG IS NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER
THIS ARTICLE CONTAINS
ALL SECOND-HAND MATERIAL
CONTENTS UNKNOWN

-------------------------------------------------------------
PERMIT NO. VAxxxxxx
-------------------------------------------------------------
Certification is made by the manufacturer that the materials in this article are described in accordance with law.

SANITIZED
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sanitized by:

NAME
ADDRESS



DATE SANITIZED_________________




To read the full text of the regulation where these requirements are described, go to our webpage or http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency5/chapter125 All persons or companies that sanitize must have a valid annual Sanitizer’s Permit issued by the Bedding and Upholstered Furniture Inspection Program.
To apply, send a completed application and a check or money order for $60 to the address on the front of this pamphlet. Your local Compliance Officer will contact you after we receive your application.
Application forms can be found on our website:
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/bedding-and-upholstered-furniture/bedding-upholstered-furniture-forms/
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[bookmark: _GoBack]*Exception: a retailer may sell, give away, or rent used, unsanitized upholstered furniture when the used upholstered furniture has been purchased by the retailer as new furniture and has been used in the course of business. Such used furniture shall be (i) conspicuously identified as used furniture and (ii) reduced in price, sold at auction, donated to charity, or made available for a rental fee, and so tagged.
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