
The Commonwealth of Virginia, Bedding and Upholstered Law sections that pertain to the licensing of a Bedding 
Manufacturer are as follows:

Bedding and Upholstered Furniture Inspection
109 Governor Street, Room 638

Richmond, Va. 23219

Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Health

Section 32.1-217, 32.1-218, Fee and License Requirement: 
An annual fee of $100.00 for Bedding Manufacturer's License is required for each manufacturing plant location.

The name and address of the manufacturer, distributor, or vendor should be reflected on the uniform law label.  If distributor is 
utilized, list the name and address following DISTRIBUTED BY.  If vendor is preferred, list the name and address following 
SOLD BY.  MADE BY can be used only by the manufacturer.

Section 32.1-219, 32.1-220, Labeling Requirement: 
Labeling of all articles is required.  Bedding Manufacturers will affix a white cloth or white tyvek uniform law label to all such 
articles that will be sold in Virginia.  A complete description of the material/s used to fill the article is required to be stamped or 
printed thereon.  If more than one kind of filler is used, the percentages by weight of each type must be stated on the law 
label.  The Registration Number of the manufacturer identifying him as the maker, is to be displayed on the uniform law label.

(3) Two copies of your uniform law label for approval if available.  If not presently available you can submit those to 
this office at a later date

(1) Completed license application;

(2) Check for annual fee payable to "Virginia Department of Health" for $100.00;

Enclosures:             License Application
Law Booklet
List of Law Label Printers

Bedding Manufacturer Inquiry

If you decide to extend your operations to include the Commonwealth of Virginia, please submit the following:

If you have any questions after reviewing this information, you may call telephone number (804) 864-8147 or send a letter.

www.vdh.virginia.gov


