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Requirements and Instructions for Initial Licensing 
Of Abortion Facilities 

 
This checklist has been developed to provide applicants with the information necessary to obtain a license 
to operate an abortion facility in Virginia.  For an initial license, an on-site survey must be conducted by the 
staff of the Virginia Department of Health’s Office of Licensure and Certification (OLC).  It is the 
responsibility of the applicant to be prepared and to provide all necessary assistance to the surveyor.  
Failure to provide appropriate and timely assistance will result in denial of the application. Subsequent 
reapplication requires payment of an additional application fee. 
 
A nonrefundable license fee of $75 is charged for each license application. Payment may be made by 
check, money order or certified check made payable to The Virginia Department of Health. The law 
prohibits a license from being issued if the fee has not been paid. Therefore, a license shall not be issued 
until the check has cleared the bank. 
 
Step I 
 
Thoroughly read and familiarize yourself with the Regulations for Licensure of Abortion Facilities (12 VAC 
5-412).  Copies of the Regulations can be downloaded from the Internet at:  
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/Laws/index.htm. 
 
All policies and procedures required by the regulations, as well as all employee personnel and patient 
medical record forms, must be developed and ready for surveyor review. This checklist identifies the 
necessary items needed for initial licensure.   
 
Step II 
 
The applicant shall submit a completed application, the $75 fee and copies of the:  

1. Proposed organizational chart; 
2. Facility’s disaster preparedness plan (12 VAC 5-412-150, -350); 
3. Facility’s patient rights policies and procedures (12 VAC 5-412-150, -210); 
4. Job description, qualifications and specific responsibilities of the administrator (12 VAC5-412-

170F); and 
5. If applicable, a plan, signed by the administrator, describing how the facility will come into full 

compliance within two years of the date of licensure. (12VAC5-412-380) 
 
to:  
  

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/Laws/index.htm


Virginia Department of Health 
Office of Licensure and Certification 

 

First Trimester Abortion Facility Application Checklist 
 
 

Acute Care Licensure 
Office of Licensure and Certification 

Virginia Department of Health 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401 

Henrico, Virginia 23233 
 
Step III 
 
After notification from the OLC that that the application is complete, the provider must submit written 
notification to the OLC that it is ready for the on-site survey within 30 days. 

 
Policy/Procedures and Forms Checklist 

 
To ensure compliance with the Regulations for Licensure of Abortion Facilities (12 VAC 5-412) and to 
prepare for the initial survey, providers are advised to have the following items ready for review prior to the 
on-site arrival of the surveyor.  
 
I. Administrative policies and procedures – including, but not limited to: 

□ The geographic service areas (localities) to be served by the facility  
□ Policy and procedures manual (12 VAC 5-412-150) 
□ By-laws of governing body (12 VAC 5-412-140)  
□ Infection prevention (12 VAC 5-412-220) 
□ Quality assurance (12 VAC 5-412-300) 

 
II. Patient care policies and procedures – including but not limited to: 

□ Scope of service and applicable service policies 
□ Patient rights (12 VAC 5-412-210) 
□ Patient complaint procedures (12 VAC 5-412-210) 
□ Transfer documents for emergency care 
□ Copies of all patient record forms, including but not limited to: (i) medical history, (ii) plan of care, and 
(iii) medication sheets.  
 

III. Personnel policies and procedures – including, but not limited to:  
□ Personnel records, content, access, storage, and retention policies  
□ Copies of all personnel record forms, including, but not limited to: (i) application, (ii) license or 
certification verification, (iii) competency evaluation, and (iv) reference checks or verification of previous 
employment and professional licensure/certification, if applicable.  


