Meet our Staff

Michael D. Berg
Manager, Regulation and Compliance
Michael.Berg@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9131
Fax: (804) 371-3108

He oversees the Division of Regulation and Compliance, and his focus is on the following broad areas:

  • EMS Physician initial and re-endorsement
  • EMS agency initial and re-licensure
  • EMS vehicles permitting and renewal
  • EMS regulations development and enforcement
  • Variances and Exemptions processing for provider, agencies and entities
  • OEMS policy advisor to Executive Management
  • Provides technical assistance and guidance to standing committees of the state EMS Advisory Board to include the Rules and Regulations Committee and the Transportation Committee
  • National issues involving licensure and regulations
  • National issues involving ambulance specification development
  • Technical assistance to local governments, EMS agencies and providers
  • Background investigations on EMS personnel
  • Regulatory enforcement, complaint processing

Marybeth Mizell
Administrative Assistant
Marybeth.Mizell@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9130
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Provides administrative support to the Division field staff and the Manager in their daily functions to include:

  • Update and maintain listing of endorsed EMS Physicians
  • Update and maintain files on EMS agencies
  • Provides staff support to the Rules and Regulations and Transportation committees

Cynthia Fien (Cynthia.Fien@vdh.virginia.gov)
Phone: (804) 888-9133
Background Unit
Fax: (804) 371-3409

VACANT
Phone: (804) 888-9125
Background Unit
Fax: (804) 371-3409

Provides support and coordinates the Background Unit activities to include:

  • Receiving and processing all fingerprint background requests
  • Notification to agencies regarding results of background checks
  • Assist customers with questions regarding process and results

OEMS Program Representatives

Provides field support to EMS agencies, local government, facilities and interested parties in the development of EMS to include the following:

  • EMS agency initial and renewal licensure
  • EMS vehicle initial and renewal permits
  • EMS regulation and compliance
  • Complaint investigation
  • Conduct inspections and investigations
  • Verify awarded grants to eligible recipients from RSAF program
  • Liaison and OEMS representative at various local and regional meetings with fellow organizations to include but not limited to regional EMS Councils, VDEM, DFP, local and state law enforcement, etc.
  • Subject matter experts on the delivery of EMS
  • Facilitator for matters related to OEMS through the various Office of EMS programs

Wayne Berry (Wayne.Berry@vdh.virginia.gov)
Jimmy Burch (Jimmy.Burch@vdh.virginia.gov)
Paul Fleenor (Paul.Fleenor@vdh.virginia.gov)
Ron Kendrick (Ron.Kendrick@vdh.virginia.gov)
Steve McNeer (Stephen.McNeer@vdh.virginia.gov)
Heather Phillips (Heather.Phillips@vdh.virginia.gov)
Scotty Williams (Scotty.Williams@vdh.virginia.gov)
Doug Layton (Douglas.Layton@vdh.virignia.gov)