Trauma and Critical Care

Trauma Center Designation and COVID-19

On March 12, 2020, Governor Ralph Northam declared a state of emergency in the Commonwealth of Virginia in response to the continued spread of the novel corona virus known as COVID-19.  The White House has also declared COVID-19 a national emergency.

Pursuant to these emergency declarations, the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) is suspending trauma center designation site reviews for ninety (90) days, effective March 18, 2020.  At the end of this 90 day period, the suspension will be re-evaluated to determine if an extension is warranted.

All trauma centers whose designation expires during this period will receive an automatic extension of its designation.  This extension will be effective until a verification site review can be rescheduled and conducted.

Factors taken into account in making the decision to suspend designation reviews were numerous.  They include the safety of our site review teams; the site review team members being physicians, nurses, and administrators with increased workloads in their primary jobs; and, the designation process creating strain on hospital trauma personnel during normal times.

OEMS is grateful for the diligence, caring, and compassion of the hospitals and personnel on the front lines dealing with the COVID-19 emergency.  We will continue to provide updates on this situation as they become available.

 

 

 

Welcome to the Virginia Office of EMS Division of Trauma and Critical Care. The staff of this Division manages multiple programs within the Office of EMS which can be viewed by clicking on the links below:

Trauma System

Patient Care Informatics

STEMI System

Stroke System

EMS for Children

OEMS Data Reports

Division of Trauma and Critical Care Staff

VPHIB E-mail Address – support@oemssupport.kayako.com

Cam Crittenden
Division Manager of Trauma and Critical Care
Camela.Crittenden@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Timothy Erskine
Trauma and Critical Care Coordinator
Timothy.Erskine@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Patient Care Informatics

Bryan Hodges
Patient Care Informatics System Supervisor
Jesse.Hodges@vdh.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 371-3108
Barry Reeves
Patient Care Informatics System Support Staff
Barry.Reeves@vdh.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 371-3108
Sayed Sadaat
Patient Care Informatics System Support Staff
Sayed.Sadaat@vdh.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Epidemiology

Jessica Rosner
Epidemiology Program Manager
Jessica.Rosner@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

Narad Mishra
Epidemiologist
Narad.Mishra@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108

EMS for Children

David Edwards
EMS for Children Coordinator
David.Edwards@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804) 888-9100
Fax: (804) 371-3108