Contact Us

Virginia Department of Health
Office of Epidemiology
Division of Environmental Epidemiology
109 Governor Street, P.O. Box 2448
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Phone: (804) 864-8182
Fax: (804) 864-8131

Caroline Holsinger, DrPH, CPH – Director
email: caroline.holsinger@vdh.virginia.gov

Amani Bassyouni, MPH – Statistical Analyst 
email: amani.bassyouni@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in data management, statistical analysis, and epidemiological methods.

James BroyhillVector-borne Disease Epidemiologist
email: james.broyhill@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in vector-borne disease surveillance.

Stephanie Crawford, MPH – Zika Program Coordinator
email: Stephanie.Crawford@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in vector-borne disease surveillance.

Rachel Ellick, MS – Health Assessor
email: rachel.ellick@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in the field of toxicology.

Dwight Flammia, PhDState Public Health Toxicologist
email: dwight.flammia@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in the field of toxicology.

David Gaines, PhDState Public Health Entomologist
Expertise in the areas of arthropod-borne disease, vector ecology/biology and control, insecticide usage, nuisance or biting and stinging arthropod pests.

Karen Gruszynski, DVM, MPH, PhD, DACVPMVeterinary Epidemiologist
email: karen.gruszynski@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in zoonotic diseases, epidemiological methods, geographical information systems (GIS), agroterrorism and food defense.

Amy Hayes, PhD – Health Assessor
Expertise in the field of toxicology.

Julia Murphy, DVM, MS, DACVPM – State Public Health Veterinarian
email: julia.murphy@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in areas of zoonotic disease (infections shared by man and animals) education, prevention, and control.

Margaret Smigo – Waterborne Pathogens Control Program Coordinator
email: margaret.smigo@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in the field of waterborne pathogens and hazards.

Rachael Straver, DVM, MPH – Arboviral Disease Epidemiologist
Expertise in the field of arboviral diseases.

Janet ThomasProgram Support Technician Senior
email: janet.thomas@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in toxic substance illness and vector-borne disease surveillance.

Andrew Tran MPH – Data Analyst Specialist
email: andrew.tran@vdh.virginia.gov
Expertise in conducting toxic substance surveillance.