Kathy Creegan-Tedeschi – Director
State law requires that all nursing facilities obtain a license to operate in Virginia. There are more than 279 nursing facilities containing 31,927 beds located throughout Virginia. All but fifteen nursing facilities are certified for federal reimbursement under Medicare and Medicaid.
Nursing facilities are inspected every 2 years under state licensure and on an average of every 12 months under Medicare/Medicaid certification. (more)
In addition to nursing facilities, The Office of Licensure and Certification also surveys Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) for Medicaid. The Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services ensures compliance with state licensure standards for these facilities.