June 20, 2014

(LYNCHBURG, Va.) The Blue Ridge Emergency Medical Services (BREMS) Council, Inc. presented its 2014 regional Emergency Medical Services (EMS) awards June 13 at the James River Conference Center. The council acknowledged all of the region’s EMS personnel for their devotion to providing efficient emergency care in the time of need.

“BREMS offers an awards program each year as a way to celebrate EMS excellence in our region. We provide plaques to hang on the wall along with trophies that signify that even though we feel all our providers do a great job, some have gone beyond the standard of ‘great’ to a level of excellence that deserves to be recognized,” said Connie Purvis, executive director of the Blue Ridge EMS Council.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2014 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 8 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“It’s an honor to celebrate the high level of excellence demonstrated by those within the Virginia EMS System. Their dedication and commitment to serve at a moment’s notice, often times putting their own lives on the line, is greatly valued and worthy of recognition,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2014 Blue Ridge EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Connie R. Purvis, Blue Ridge EMS Council
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Robert B. Stratton, Concord Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Stephen M. Wade, Concord Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Jennifer L. Kersey, Amherst County Department of Public Safety
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Carbon Monoxide Awareness and Provider Protection Program, Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Holly O. Hogan, Huddleston Rescue Squad
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Leonard Cohen, MD, Bedford County OMD
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Stefanie R. Lugar, Bedford County Communications
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior (2014 Linda Boon Educational Award, $2,000 Scholarship)Michael Alan Hoffman II, Appomattox Rescue Squad, Appomattox County High School