June 16, 2014

(NORFOLK, Va.)  The Tidewater Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. honored all areas of public safety at its annual regional EMS awards held June 15, 2014, at the Virginia Zoo. Awards were given to those nominated by their peers for their exceptional level of service to the region’s EMS system.

“I’m always proud of our emergency medical personnel and our award winners this year are great examples of the excellence and dedication to high quality prehospital patient care that we see every day,” said Jim Chandler, executive director of the Tidewater EMS Council.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2014 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 8 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“It’s an honor to celebrate the high level of excellence demonstrated by those within the Virginia EMS System. Their dedication and commitment to serve at a moment’s notice, often times putting their own lives on the line, is greatly valued and worthy of recognition,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2014 Tidewater EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Lorna J. Ramsey, Tidewater Community College
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Joseph “Rusty” Chase, Isle of Wight Department of Emergency Services (retired)
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services
  • Outstanding EMS Provider – Amy L. Ward, Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician – Calin V. Maniu, MD, Bon Secours Maryview Medical Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Anne B. Mach, RN, Sentara Virginia Beach General Emergency Department and Tidewater Community College
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Kevin T. Holloway, Eastern Shore EMS Council
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Officer – Tracy Dove, Virginia Beach 9-1-1 Public Safety Emergency Telecommunicator
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship)  Samantha White, Hunterdale Volunteer Fire Department,  Franklin Fire and Rescue, Southampton High School