July 6, 2015

(LYNCHBURG, Va.) – The Blue Ridge Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. held its regional EMS awards June 18, 2015 at the Peakland United Methodist Church in Lynchburg. The council celebrated local EMS personnel for the high level of dedicated service they provide and awarded them for their exceptional contribution to the community and the regional EMS system.

“The BlueRidge EMS Council isproud to honor these very worthy award recipients for their outstanding achievements in EMS. Everyone who participates in this field of work is exceptional for their commitment to help people in their greatest hour of need,” said Connie Purvis, executive director of the Blue Ridge EMS Council. “However, there are some that go the extra mile to excel, and this year’s award winners are true examples of such excellence.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Blue Ridge EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Steven B. Ferguson, Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Heather R. Childress, Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Frank Smith, Campbell County Public Safety
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Justin Kidd, Campbell County Public Safety
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Amanda Turner, R.N., Centra Health Lynchburg General Hospital
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Adam Stevens, M.D., Centra Health Lynchburg General Hospital
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Pamela Watson, Lynchburg 911 Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior (2015 Linda Boon Educational Award, $2,000 Scholarship)Nathaniel Paxton, Campbell County Rescue Squad