July 6, 2015

(GAINESVILLE, Va.) – The Northern Virginia Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. recognized the exceptional level of service shown by EMS personnel at the council’s regional awards ceremony held June 25, 2015 at the Fairfax Fire Station 403.

“The regional EMS award winners show an outstanding level of dedication and commitment to excellence, which is responsible for the extraordinary emergency response system serving Northern Virginia,” said Todd Lupton, president of the Northern Virginia EMS Council.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Northern Virginia EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in Emergency Medical Services – Brian Hricik, Alexandria Fire Department
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Greg Rauch, City of Fairfax Fire Department
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety – New Millennium EAS
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Jodi Pritchard, R.N., AirCare Medevac, a service of PHI Air Medical, LLC
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS –John Morgan, M.D., Loudon County Combined Fire-Rescue System
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Marie Powell, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Matthew Fox, City of Manassas Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Tammy Murcek, Fairfax County Department of Public Safety Communications
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) Caroline Meier, Vienna Volunteer Fire and Rescue, Falls Church High School