August 11, 2015

(RICHMOND, Va.) – The Old Dominion Emergency Medical Services Alliance (ODEMSA) celebrated the region’s emergency medical services (EMS) personnel for their notable contributions to the public health system at the annual regional EMS awards held July 25 at the Metro Richmond Zoo.

“ODEMSA is humbled to have such outstanding EMS providers and partners empowering our region. It is no small task that we take lightly, honoring these dedicated individuals, and it is truly our pleasure to do so,” said Heidi Hooker, executive director of Old Dominion EMS Alliance.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Old Dominion EMS Alliance Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Ed Farrish, Tuckahoe Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Kathy Eubank, Manchester Volunteer Rescue Squad/Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Manchester Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Robin Foster, M.D., VCU Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety – Craig Bodette, Hanover County Fire & EMS
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Beth Broering & Kelley Rumsey-VCU Level 1 Trauma Center Program Coordinators, VCU Medical Center
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Shannon Daniel, West Hanover Volunteer Rescue Squad/Richmond Ambulance Authority/John Tyler Community College
  • Outstanding EMS Provider – Ron Koser, Prince George Fire & EMS
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician Joanne Lapetina, M.D., Southside Virginia Emergency Crew, Mary Immaculate Hospital
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Kristin Milton, City of Petersburg Emergency Communications Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Alexander Hale, Tuckahoe Volunteer Rescue Squad