June 16, 2015

(GLOUCESTER, Va.) – The Peninsulas Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. presented its Regional EMS Awards at “EMS Day” in Busch Gardens, May 23, 2015. The council celebrated its regional EMS personnel and honored the incredible level of service that they provide to the community.

“It always gives me great pleasure to announce the winners of the Peninsulas EMS Regional EMS Awards.This year’s selections were particularly challenging because of the number of excellent candidates in each category who were nominated by their own peers in the EMS community,” said Michael Player, executive director of the Peninsulas EMS Council, Inc. “As we recognize these select few for the excellence of their accomplishments, we also want to share how very proud we are of the incredible work that all of our EMS providers, managers, educators, telecommunicators and hospital providers do every day with every patient on the streets and in the homes of our citizens.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Peninsulas EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS (Michael B. Player Award) Travis Mitchell, Bon Secours Hampton Roads
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator (Russell Lowry, Jr. Award)Terrence McGregor, Lancaster County
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Gloucester Volunteer Fire & Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Provider (Joseph B. Howard Award ) Mark Kain, Newport News Fire Department
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician (Gaylord W. Ray Award) Amy E. Burford, M.D., York County Department of Fire & Life Safety
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse (Melissa Holloway Award)Randi Blymyer, RN, Riverside Walter Reed Hospital
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator – Anne Mach, RN, Tidewater Community College
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters Neonatal/Pediatric Transport Team
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Hampton Division of Fire & Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Officer – Kimlee Bass, York-Poquoson-Williamsburg 911
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Kayla Smith, James City Volunteer Rescue Squad, Bruton High School

Special Recognition:

  • Outstanding EMS Call – Williamsburg Fire Department, James City County Fire Department, York County Department of Fire and Life Safety, and Life Evac 3
  • PEMS Regional Medication Box System – Lindsay Enzor, James Mastern, Jeffrey Bendit and Riverside Walter Reed Hospital
  • Performance Improvement Program – Carol Pugh, Virginia Office of EMS
  • PEMS Rural EMS Education Expo – Rappahannock Community College, Sentara Hampton Careplex, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, Peninsulas EMS Council Staff