June 4, 2015

(Charlottesville, Va.) The Thomas Jefferson Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. thanked its EMS personnel and awarded those who were nominated for their superior level of service to the community during the council’s regional awards ceremony held May 13, 2015 at the East Rivanna Volunteer Fire Company.

“It is a great privilege to award and recognize the EMS personnel within the Thomas Jefferson region. This regional awards program allows us the opportunity to formally acknowledge a remarkable level of dedication and commitment to serving our entire community,” said Gary Morris, executive director of the Thomas Jefferson EMS Council. “It is our sincere hope that these award recipients continue to share their passion and devotion with others so that our EMS system will continue to improve and others will become as dedicated to serving as they have.”
Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Thomas Jefferson EMS Council Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in Emergency Medical Services – Kostas Alibertis, Western Albemarle Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Mary Lee Embrey, Nelson County Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Wintergreen Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Piedmont Pediatrics
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety – University of Virginia Prehospital Program
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Elizabeth Scott, RN, University of Virginia Health System, Pegasus Flight Operations
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Dr. William Brady
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Valerie Quick, University of Virginia Prehospital Program/Western Albemarle Rescue Squad/Scottsville Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Susan Anderson, Holly Grove Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Telecomunications Dispatcher – Taylor Ashley, Charlottesville/Albemarle, University of Virginia Emergency Communications Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Julia Hatter, Greene County Rescue Squad