Old Dominion EMS Alliance Recognizes Excellence in EMS

June 16, 2017

For More Information Contact

(RICHMOND, Va.) – The Old Dominion Emergency Medical Services Alliance (ODEMSA) celebrated the dedication and service of its personnel at the council’s regional EMS awards ceremony held Saturday, May 20, at the Richmond Metro Zoo in Chesterfield. Regional award winners were nominated by their peers for their high level of achievements in the EMS field.

“I congratulate all of our award winners,” said Heidi Hooker, executive director of ODEMSA. “The EMS providers and agencies that we recognize every year don’t ask us to recognize them and they don’t do it for the accolades. I know they prefer to go quietly about their business of saving lives every single day. But it is important for us to recognize these amazing and selfless individuals because without their service and sacrifice, our citizens would have no one to rely on in their time of great need.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2017 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 11, in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“It is so important that we recognize and honor the men and women who serve on the front line of our health care system,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS. “Their commitment to being ready at a moment’s notice to protect and provide quality prehospital care warrants the utmost respect and appreciation.”

The 2017 Old Dominion EMS Alliance Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Edward Ferguson, Jr., Goochland County Department of Fire-Rescue and Emergency Services
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Jessica Cambridge, Prince Edward Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Southside Virginia Emergency Crew
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Amelia Emergency Squad – Jr. Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response ­– Andrew Slater, Central Virginia Hospital Coalition
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Midlothian Athletic Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Sara Jennings, R.N., Bon Secours St. Mary’s Hospital
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Thomas Nevetral, Chesterfield Fire and EMS
  • Outstanding EMS Provider – Michael Hardy, Halifax County Rescue
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician Jeff Ferguson, M.D., Henrico County Division of Fire
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Cindy Gillespie, Powhatan County
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Zachery Abbott