Rappahannock EMS Council Recognizes Excellence in EMS

July 5, 2017

For More Information Contact

Vivian Delts, regional field coordinator
Rappahannock EMS Council, Inc.

Tristen Graves, public relations assistant
Virginia Department of Health

(FREDERICKSBURG, Va.) – The Rappahannock Emergency Medical Services Council (REMS), Inc. recognized the remarkable level of commitment and dedication shown by its regional EMS personnel at the annual awards ceremony June 14 at the National Museum of the Marine Corps in Triangle. The council awarded those, nominated by their peers, for their noteworthy achievements in the EMS field.

“We are very proud of our regional award winners. The regional awards program provides a showcase for our area providers and agencies to demonstrate new ways to strengthen the EMS system in Virginia and to not settle for business as usual,” said Kevin Dillard, president of the REMS Board of Directors. “Many innovative policies and community programs have been identified on the local level through applications to the regional awards program. The regional awards provide a platform to acknowledge the best in EMS for others to learn from and follow.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2017 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 11, in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“It is so important that we recognize and honor the men and women who serve on the front line of our health care system,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS. “Their commitment to being ready at a moment’s notice to protect and provide quality prehospital care warrants the utmost respect and appreciation.” 

The 2017 Rappahannock EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Jake Marshall, Fredericksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Sue Connors, LifeCare Medical Transports
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Sperryville Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Kimberly Melson, Colonial Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – County of Orange Fire and EMS
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response – LifeCare Medical Transports
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Inez Robins, R.N., Mary Washington Healthcare
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician – Tania White, M.D., Regional Operational Medical Director
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Raymond Velasquez, Spotsylvania County Fire, Rescue and Emergency Management (FREM)/Associates in Emergency Care
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Susan Dietrich, LifeCare Medical Transports
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Leslie Thode, Spotsylvania Sheriff’s Office Emergency Communications Center
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior – Jacob Wellerman, Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue