Thomas Jefferson EMS Council Recognizes Excellence in EMS

June 15, 2017

For More Information Contact  


(Charlottesville, Va.) – The Thomas Jefferson Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc., recognized the tremendous level of service and dedication provided by the region’s EMS personnel on Wednesday, May 10, at Sentara Martha Jefferson Hospital’s Kessler Conference Room in Charlottesville. The nominees were awarded for their remarkable accomplishments in the EMS field.

“The annual EMS awards afford the regional councils an opportunity to recognize the unparalleled work done by all of the providers. We not only honor both the past and present actions of the recipients, we also honor those high school seniors that represent the future of EMS,” said Tom Joyce, executive director of the Thomas Jefferson EMS Council. “Many exemplary behaviors are performed during any given year that might otherwise go unnoticed. As part of the awards process we are able to also unite the similar disciplines of medicine and nursing and recognize the integral part that those independent disciplines bring to EMS.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the opportunity to compete for the prestigious 2017 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 11, in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“It is so important that we recognize and honor the men and women who serve on the front line of our health care system,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Off ice of EMS. “Their commitment to being ready at a moment’s notice to protect and provide quality prehospital care warrants the utmost respect and appreciation.”

The 2017 Thomas Jefferson EMS Council Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Buck DeForge, University of Virginia Pegasus
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – R. John Lye, Lake Monticello Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Lake Monticello Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response – University of Virginia Health System – Special Events Medical Management
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Richard Westphal, R.N., University of Virginia
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Kimberly Lowry, R.N., Sentara Martha Jefferson Hospital
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician– John Gaughen, M.D., Sentara Martha Jefferson Hospital
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Pete Syme, Charlottesville-Albemarle Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Telecomunications Dispatcher – Jonathan Grimm, Louisa County Sheriff’s Office Emergency Communications Division
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Catherine Adams, Western Albemarle Rescue Squad

Local Awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – William H. Thompson, Jr. “Junior” – Roseland Rescue Squad