Virginia Department of Health: Protecting You and Your Environment Call our hotline at 1-800-838-8238.
Home Page Contact the Virginia Department of Health Statutory Rape Laws in Virginia Library of Resources What can you do to help? spacer
Laws in Virginia spacer
your buddy is involved with a girl and you know it's not right spacer
you are in a relationship with a much younger girl and you know it's not right spacer
you know a younger person who may be in a coercive relationship spacer
your organization deals with the issues of sexual violence and statutory rape spacer
Laws
What about boys?
In terms of Statutory Rape (not a legal term in Virginia) there are two statutes that apply.

The first statute deals with carnal knowledge of a child between thirteen and fifteen years of age. Therefore, if you are 18 years of age or older and have sex with a 13 or 14 year old minor, that is a Class 4 felony and punishable by 2-10 yrs and up to $100,000 fine.

The second statute deals with someone 18 years of age or older having sex with someone age 15, 16, or 17 years of age, which is a class one misdemeanor and punishable with up to one year in jail and a $2,500.00 fine.

Statutes covering sexual relations between minors can be understood by the second paragraph in statute § 18.2-63

"However, if such child is thirteen years of age or older but under fifteen years of age and consents to sexual intercourse and the accused is a minor and such consenting child is three years or more the accused's junior, the accused shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony. If such consenting child is less than three years the accused's junior, the accused shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor."

§ 18.2-63. Carnal knowledge of child between thirteen and fifteen years of age.
If any person carnally knows, without the use of force, a child thirteen years of age or older but under fifteen years of age, such person shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony.

However, if such child is thirteen years of age or older but under fifteen years of age and consents to sexual intercourse and the accused is a minor and such consenting child is three years or more the accused's junior, the accused shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony. If such consenting child is less than three years the accused's junior, the accused shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor.

In calculating whether such child is three years or more a junior of the accused minor, the actual dates of birth of the child and the accused, respectively, shall be used.
For the purposes of this section,

(i) a child under the age of thirteen years shall not be considered a consenting child and

(ii) "carnal knowledge" includes the acts of sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, anallingus, anal intercourse, and animate and inanimate object sexual penetration.

§ 18.2-371. Causing or encouraging acts rendering children delinquent, abused, etc.; penalty. Any person eighteen years of age or older, including the parent of any child, who

(i) willfully contributes to, encourages, or causes any act, omission, or condition which renders a child delinquent, in need of services, in need of supervision, or abused or neglected as defined in §16.1-228,or

(ii) engages in consensual sexual intercourse with a child fifteen or older not his spouse, child, or grandchild, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section shall not be construed as repealing, modifying, or in any way affecting §§ 18.2-18, 18.2-19, 18.2-61, 18.2-63, 18.2-66, and 18.2-347.
(Code 1950, § 18.1-14; 1960, c. 358; 1975, cc. 14, 15; 1981, cc. 397, 568; 1990, c. 797; 1991, c. 295; 1993, c. 411.)