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	VDH Driver Safety Policy

	

	Application			

	

	All employees within the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) driving state-owned, leased, rental or personal vehicles while on agency business.

	

	Policy

	

	VDH Employees driving state-owned, leased, rental, or personal vehicles that are required to drive on agency business at any time will be expected to consistently adhere to all the safety and driver monitoring rules in this policy.

	

	Purpose

	

	VDH is committed to ensuring the safety, health and well-being of our employees. This policy establishes Driver Safety and Monitoring Rules for all employees driving state-owned, leased, rental or personal vehicles while on agency business. 

	

	Authority

	

	Office of Fleet Management Services - Policies & Procedures Manual

	

	Related Policies & Resources

	

	DHRM Policy Number: 1.05 - Alcohol and Other Drugs 
VDH Policy Number 2.10.1 - Background Investigation Program

	

	Driver Safety Rules

	

	The rules listed below are not to be considered all inclusive.
· Be alert and aware of your surroundings and other drivers.
· Follow all driving laws such as adherence to posted speed limits.
· Use caution, driving more slowly in adverse weather conditions.
· Avoid confrontational or offensive behavior.
· Do not use alcohol, drugs or other substances that impair abilities while operating a motor vehicle on state business as this is strictly prohibited per Department of Human Resource Management’s (DHRM) Alcohol & Other Drugs Policy # 1.05.
· Wear seat belts at all times, either as the driver or as a passenger.
· Never allow anyone to ride in any part of the vehicle not specifically intended for passenger use and/or any seat that does not include a working seat belt.
· Securely store items in the vehicle to ensure their limited movement and unimpaired vision for the driver.
· Do not use cell phones, to include text messaging and the use of hands free devices, while operating a motor vehicle on state business as this is strictly prohibited except in emergencies. 
· Do not engage in distracting activities such as eating, applying makeup or reading while operating a motor vehicle.
· Immediately report any accidents to police and to your supervisor.
· Report any moving violations you receive while on duty to your supervisor.
· Report any change in the status of your driver’s license to your supervisor when driving is required for your position.

	

	Driver Monitoring Rules

	

	The rules listed below are used in reviewing driver suitability however; additional restrictions may be applied at the discretion of the agency Personnel Security Officer (PSO).

· A VDH motor vehicle operator that accrues -6 points in 24 months or -9 points in 36 months on their Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle (VDMV) driver transcript or out of state equivalent will be required complete a VDMV recognized defensive driving course at the motor vehicle drivers’ expense.
· A VDH motor vehicle operator that accrues -6 points in a 12 month period or -9 points in a 24 month period will be suspended from driving for a period established by the agency PSO.
· A VDH motor vehicle operator convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), reckless driving or equivalent within a 3 year period will be suspended from driving for a period established by the agency PSO regardless of a restricted license granted by the court.
· A VDH motor vehicle operator that accrues -12 points in 12 months or -18 points in 24 months will have their VDH vehicle driving privileges revoked until their driver point balance is brought back to suitable standing as declared by the PSO.
· A VDH motor vehicle operator that has a suspended license will be suspended from driving a VDH vehicle for a period established by the agency PSO. Should the employee position require an active driver’s license, and the license suspension result in the employee’s inability to conduct agency business, the employee would be subject to Standards of Conduct which may result in termination.


	


	Policy Administration
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Employee Acknowledgement of VDH Driver Safety Policy

VDH Employees driving state-owned, leased, rental, or personal vehicles that are required to drive on agency business at any time will be expected to consistently adhere to all the safety and driver monitoring rules above.  In addition, it is your understanding that you will be included in a motor vehicle driver monitoring program; in which your DMV driving record will be monitored as long as you are employed for moving violation convictions, suspensions, revocations, disqualifications, reckless driving or driving while intoxicated convictions, along with the accumulation of -7 adverse driver points in a calendar year (or the equivalent in another state). Failure to adhere to this policy, including but not limited to, maintaining an eligible driving status as required by an essential job function, may result in disciplinary action per DHRM Standards of Conduct Policy #1.60. 
 

Signature:____________________________________________	Date__________
Print Name: __________________________________________

Driver’s License Number:________________________________ State Issued:_______
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Employee Responsibilities  

  Review the driver safety and monitoring rules in its entirety and sign and return the employee  acknowledgement of this policy to his/her supervisor prior to driving a vehicle while on agency business.  
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Review the driver safety and monitoring rules in its entirety and sign and return the employee acknowledgement of this policy to his/her supervisor prior to driving a vehicle while on agency business.
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