Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter YouTube
   disclaimer

Office of Vital Records


Virginia birth and death records from 1912 to the present, divorce records since 1918 and marriage records since 1936 are now available in an index form. Click here to access indexed information on open records.  In Virginia, death, marriage and divorce data become “public” information 25 years after the event; birth data are “public” after 100 years.

Welcome to the Division of Vital Records and Health Statistics. We receive an average of 30,000 calls a month to the Vital Records Information Line. In addition, 9,000 people stop by our office each month requesting certified copies of birth, death, marriage, and divorce certificates. We house over 7 million records detailing this information for the citizens of Virginia. You can place a call with one of our Customer Service Representatives by dialing 804-662-6200.

Thank you,
Division of Vital Records

border Vital Records and Health Statistics are Moving border
border

The new address is:
2001 Maywill Street
Richmond, Virginia 23230

The mailing address
remains the same:

P. O. Box 1000
Richmond, Virginia 23218
border
border border border

NOTE: The Division of Vital Records is open most Saturdays, from 8 AM to Noon.

Birth records are public information 100 years after the date of the event; death, marriage, and divorce records, 25 years after the event. Vital Records are available to immediate family members only- mother, father, husband, wife, child, brother, sister and grandparents with valid ID. Birth records can be issued to the legal guardian with proof of custody papers. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, etc. cannot obtain a Vital Record.

Any person requesting a Vital Record MUST PROVIDE A LEGIBLE PHOTOCOPY OF THEIR IDENTIFICATION (see ID Requirements).


How to Obtain a Certified Vital Record

There are four ways in which to obtain a CERTIFIED VITAL (BIRTH, DEATH, MARRIAGE, DIVORCE) Record in Virginia. Choose the method that best suits your needs (click on button 1, 2 3 or 4 for more information).

1

Mail — The Division of Vital Records is now in our peak season for mail-in requests. The turn around is estimated at 1 to 2 weeks for CERTIFIED VITAL RECORDS from the day the request is received IN THIS OFFICE. However, people are urged to allow sufficient time for delivery of all CERTIFIED VITAL RECORDS.

2

Walk-in - Same day service is available to walk-in customers. This is the fastest way to obtain a certified vital record. When you arrive, you will complete an application, pay the $12 required fee, and show the processing clerk a valid photo I.D.

3

Express Delivery through the VitalChek Network (https://www.vitalchek.com) - For your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that Virginia Department of Health, Division of Vital Records has partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network, Inc. VitalChek can be reached through their website or toll free at 877-572-6333. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

4

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles – Certified copies of Virginia birth records from 1912 to the present are available for purchase at all full service DMV locations which include DMV customer service centers and DMV 2 Go mobile offices.

Mailing Address:

VDH, Office of Vital Records
and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, Virginia
23218-1000

General Information Number: 804-662-6200

Street Address:
2001 Maywill Street
Richmond, Virginia 23230

 

Last Updated: 06-03-2015

Printable Version

E-mail This Page