
 

 

Testing Procedures for: 

BLS Re-Entry, Legal Recognition and Challenge Candidates 

 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014 

 
1) Take a psychomotor examination at a Consolidated Test Site offered by the regional EMS Councils.  You can sign 

up for this psychomotor examination at https://testing.vaems.org. As a reminder you have two attempts to 
successfully complete your psychomotor examination before you would be required to complete another 36 
hours of education to gain secondary eligibility at which time you would have two additional attempts before 
being required to take an entire EMT course. 

2) Take the National Registry EMT cognitive examination at a Pearson Vue testing center. National Registry will 
offer you up to six (6) opportunities to pass the cognitive examination however, after three unsuccessful 
attempts you would be required to do 24 hours of remedial education. 

3)   Please follow these steps to establish a National Registry account if you do not already have one: 
a. Go to www.nremt.org and click on ‘Create New Account’ or if you already have an account log into your 

National Registry account 
b. After completing step 1 return to the home page and log in with the username and password you 

created 
c. Complete all the information in the Personal Account Information fields as prompted. The first and last 

name you include in this area MUST be the same as what appears on your driver’s license for the ID you 
will present at the testing center and is what will appear on your application. 

d. Click on ‘Create Initial Entry Application’ 
i. Initial course completion date should be the date of your eligibility letter from Virginia (obtained 

in your VA portal account) 
ii. Do not select ‘Enter NREMT on a refresher application’ 

iii. Location of Initial Training Institution or Agency would be ‘VA’ 
iv. Click on List of EMS Education Programs 
v. Select Program 76000 – Virginia Office of EMS 

vi. Fill in your state certification number and expiration date 
vii. List your CPR card date (must have a valid CPR card) 

viii. Answer the Licensing Action and Felony Statement questions 
ix. Submit your application 

e. Pay the applicable testing fee for the examination you are taking (currently $65/EMR and $70/EMT) 
f. Log into your National Registry account in 48 hours to check the status of your application. 

4) You can take the tests in either order you prefer but until you have successfully completed both the cognitive 
and psychomotor examinations you will not be recertified as a provider in Virginia.  

5)  You cannot provide EMS care without Virginia certification. 
6) All testing must be successfully completed by the expiration date on your eligibility letter. 
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