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Program Objectives 

 

To identify those items in the 2012 

version of the Virginia EMS 

Regulations that affect you as 

the provider, your agency and 

even your OMD! 



Virginia 2012 Emergency 

Medical Services Regulations 

Effective: October 10, 2012 



NEARLY NINE (9) YEARS IN 

THE MAKING! 

Multiple stakeholders involved in the development and creation of 

the final document. This was not a desk medic product! 



Definitions 

•Designated Infection Control 

Officer 
• Must be trained (where does it say “certified”?)  

• Approved programs posted on OEMS web 

page. 

•Local EMS Response Plan 
• Let’s discuss so we are ALL clear on the 

expectation… 



More Definitions 

• Responding Time 
• PSAP to wheels of appropriate vehicle on 

scene. 

• Responding Time Standard 
• In minutes, locality, OMD and agency – 90%. 

• Response Obligation to Locality 
• Required to assist all other DERA’s within 

given locality or localities EMS agency is 

based. 



Behavior Modification Options 

•Technical Assistance 

•Verbal Warning 

•Citation 

•Correction Order* 

•Temporary Suspension 

•Suspension 

•Revocation 

•Civil Penalties (new) 



Appeal Process 

First step 

• Request an Informal Fact Finding 

Conference. 

• Adjudication Officer. 

• Recommendation to Health 

Commissioner. 

• 90 days to render decision. 

Next Step 

• Can have additional IFFC, or 

• Move to Formal Hearing. 

• Court appointed Hearing Officer. 

• OEMS/VDH represented by 

Attorney General’s Office. 

• Decision final 

 

 



Storage and Security of Drugs 

and Related Supplies 
12VAC5-31-520 

1. VBOP and manufacturer’s 

recommendations for climate 

controlled storage. 

2. In date. 

3. 15 days to notify OEMS**** “… of 

any diversion (i.e. loss of theft) or 

tampering…”  



Personnel Records 

12VAC5-31-540 

“…each individual affiliated with the EMS 

agency…  

 criminal history check***… 

 driving record transcript…no more than 

60 days prior…” 



Criminal History Checks 

• Legislation passed to allow Commissioner to require certain 

information 

• OEMS issued FBI identifier and fingerprint cards 

• Plan to have cards distributed to local regional EMS Councils 

• Provider to gain fingerprints (usually through local law 

enforcement) 

• Cards are sent to OEMS 

• OEMS processes and submits to VSP (and pays for all submitted) 

• OEMS to obtain report and then issue notification to agency 

(provider?) 

• Actual report cannot be provided to individual 

• Acceptance/denial information valid for 60 days 

• Not retroactive!!!!!! 

• Will notify once this is program is online….sigh…. 

 

 



Agency Status Report 

12VAC5-31-570 

“…within 30 days of change in 

status…” 

 

Chief executive officer 

Training officer 

Designated infection control officer 



Vehicle Equipment 



Safety! 

12VAC5-31-700 

 

No Tobacco 

Products 

“…at any 

time.” 



Safety! 
 

 

12VAC5-31-710 

 
Minimum of 

Three Straps 

on Patient. 
 



Vehicle Equipment 

 
What’s Changed? 

• Infant Nasal Cannula. 

• Adult BVM.* 
• Adult and Child mask. 

• Infant BVM. 
• Infant mask. 

• Triage Tags (OEMS approved only). 



Criminal and Enforcement History 

Mirrors National Registry and more… 

• General denial. 

• Presumptive denial. 

• Permitted Vehicle operations. 
• Must have a policy. 

• No more “got a pulse, got a patch, then 

drive…” 



Criminal and Enforcement History 
 

Update 

 

• Current language only discusses 

“certification” and not “affiliation.” 

• A Fast Track regulatory packet is 

being developed to update this 

language. 



Drug and Substance Abuse 
•Provider – cannot be under influence. 

•Agency – must have policy to include testing for 

“drugs or intoxicating substances. 



OEMS Investigation 

Would you believe…. 

 

12VAC5-31-970 

 Do not interfere with an 

investigation… 



Sexual Harassment 

12VAC5-31-1030 

 

Now included students – yes there 

were cases of this occurring! 



OMD Authorization to Practice 

12VAC5-31-1040  

• OMD must sign on official 

stationary authoring individuals to 

practice. 

• Policy to carry and administer Epi. 

• Policy to store, and administer O2 

in POV. 



Scope of Practice 

12VAC5-31-1050 

• Only perform procedures, skills or 

techniques..certified, local 

protocols, OMD approval. 

• Under agency affiliated. 

• Procedures and Medications as 

approved by board (Board of 

Health). 







Documentation 

12VAC5-31-1140 

• “…shall provide…12 hours. 

• Signature of prescriber…drug 

administered, self-administration 

is assisted…invasive procedure.*** 

• Electronic signatures… 



Documentation 

 HB1499 ad SB773 amended § 54.1-3408 

• Removes signature requirement! 

• BOP updated their regulations to allow 

process (effective 9/25/2013). 

• EMS Fast Track regulatory packet has 

been submitted – at VDH administration. 

• No changes yet – party invitations 

forthcoming! 



EMS Education and Certification 

Part III 

EMS Education and Certification 

 

• Aligns with national criteria and 

terminology. 

• Retains Virginia EMT-Intermediate. 

• Waivers…. See next slide! 



Waivers 

• HB1622 and SB790 introduced to amend  § 32.1-111.5. 

 

• A Fast Track regulatory packet has been developed and 

completed.  

 

• This action allows a provider to recertify with CEU – no 

state testing or OMD signatures required. 

 

• 11/01/2013 – regulatory packet resides with policy 

analyst in Governor’s Office. 

 

• Notice will be provided when effective. 



OMD Endorsement 

• Any physician wishing to be endorsed 

or re-endorsed as an EMS physician 

must complete an application, 

provide evidence of specific criteria 

– only to OEMS – no longer requires 

regional council involvement. 

• Must attend two “Currents” session 

in five year period. 

 



Speaking of OMD’s 

12VAC5-31-590 

• You can have as many as you want, 

but there must exist a contract! 

• Unless the name is on the contract 

between you and the physician, a 

regional OMD cannot sign anything 

for your agency (waivers, grants). 

 

 



More OMD Material 

• Must have a contract for each 

OMD. 
 

• “…must provide…access to the 

agency OMD…patient 

care…protocols…operation of EMS 

equipment used by EMS agency.” 

 





Summary 

There is greater responsibility placed 

upon  the agency to address matters 

of personnel eligibility, agency 

performance and interaction with 

their OMD and local government. 

Providers are now better defined in 

skills and procedures. 

Efforts ongoing to remove burdensome 

regulations… 



Team Effort! 



Additional Questions? 

 Contact your local  

EMS Program Representative,  

or contact 

Michael D. Berg 

800-523-6019 toll free (VA only) 

804-888-9131 

michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov 

 

mailto:michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov
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