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ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF MANDATED REPORTER STATUS 

(This is an optional form for employers of mandated reporters to document that their employees have been notified of their mandated  
reporter status. An acknowledgement form developed by the employer is also acceptable.  If this form is used, page one should be retained by the 

employer. Page two listing indicators of adult abuse, neglect and exploitation should be retained by the employee). 
 
 
I,  ____, understand that when I am employed as a  
 (Employee Name) 
 
 ___________________________________,  

(Type of Employment) 
 
I am a mandated reporter pursuant to  §§ 63.2-1603 through 1610 of the Code of Virginia.  This means that I am required 
to report or cause a report to be made to Virginia Adult Protective Services (APS) either by calling the APS Hotline (1-
888-83-ADULT) or the appropriate local department of social services whenever I have reason to suspect that an adult 
age 60 or over or an incapacitated adult age 18 and over and who is known to me in my professional or official capacity 
may be abused, neglected, or exploited. I understand that I must follow the reporting protocol, if any, of my employer, but 
my employer may not prohibit me from reporting directly to APS. 
 
I understand that if I suspect a death of an adult age 60 or over or an incapacitated adult age 18 and over occurred due to 
abuse or neglect, I must report the death to the medical examiner and the law enforcement agency in the locality in which 
the death occurred. 
 
I understand that I am immune from civil or criminal liability on account of any reports, information, testimony and 
records I release if the report is made in good faith and without malicious intent.  My identity will be held confidential 
unless I authorize the disclosure or disclosure is ordered by the court.  
 
I understand that if I fail to make a required report of suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation, immediately upon 
suspicion, I may be subject to a civil money penalty imposed by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  If I am a law-enforcement officer, I understand the money penalty does not apply to me but that I will be 
referred to the court system for non-reporting of suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  If I am licensed, certified, 
or regulated by a health regulatory board, I may also be subject to administrative action or criminal investigation by the 
appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal authority. 
 
I understand that there is no charge when calling the Hotline number (1-888-83-ADULT or 1-888-832-3858) and that the 
Hotline operates 24-hours per day, 7 days per week, 365 days per year.  
 
I affirm that I have read this statement and have knowledge and understanding of the reporting requirements, which apply 
to me pursuant to §§ 63.2-1603 through 1610 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
 
   
 Signature of Applicant/Employee 
 
   
 Date 
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Indicators of Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation 

 
ABUSE 

• Multiple/severe bruises, welts 
• Bilateral bruises on upper arms 
• Clustered bruises on trunk 
• Bruises which resemble an object 
• Old and new bruises 
• Signs of bone fractures 
• Broken bones, open wounds, 
skull fracture 
• Striking, shoving, beating, kicking, 
scratching 
 

• Internal injuries 
• Sprains, dislocation, lacerations, 
cuts, punctures 
• Black eyes 
• Bed sores 
• Untreated injuries 
• Broken glasses/frames 
• Untreated medical condition 
• Burns, scalding 
• Restrained, tied to bed, tied to 
chair, locked in, isolated 
• Overmedicated 

• Verbal assaults, threats, 
intimidation 
• Prolonged interval between injury 
and treatment 
• Fear of caregiver 
• Individual is prohibited from being 
alone with visitors 
• Individual has recent or sudden 
changes in behavior 
• Unexplained fear 
• Unwarranted suspicion 
 

SEXUAL ABUSE 
• Genital or urinary irritation, injury, 
infection or scarring 
• Presence of a sexually 
transmitted disease 
• Frequent, unexplained physical 
illness 
 

• Intense fear reaction to an 
individual or to people in general 
• Mistrust of others 
• Nightmares, night terrors, sleep 
disturbance 
• Direct or coded disclosure of 
sexual abuse 
 

• Disturbed peer interactions 
• Depression or blunted affect 
• Poor self-esteem 
• Self-destructive activity or suicidal 
ideation 
 

NEGLECT 
• Untreated medical condition 
• Untreated mental health 
problem(s) 
• Bedsores 
• Medication not taken as 
prescribed 
• Malnourished 
• Dehydrated 
• Dirt, fleas, lice on person 
 

• Fecal/urine smell 
• Animal infested living quarters 
• Insect infested living quarters 
• Non-functioning toilet 
• No heat, running water, electricity 
• Homelessness 
• Lacks needed supervision 
• Lack of food or inadequate food 
• Uneaten food over period of time 

• Accumulated newspaper/debris 
• Unpaid bills 
• Inappropriate or inadequate 
clothing 
• Needs but does not have glasses, 
hearing aid, dentures, prosthetic 
device 
• Hazardous living conditions 
• Soiled bedding/furniture 
• House too hot or cold 

FINANCIAL EXPLOITATION 
• Unexplained disappearance of 
funds, valuables, or personal 
belongings 
• Adult child is financially 
dependent upon the older person 
or the older person is 
dependent on caregiver 
• Misuse of money or property by 
another person 
• Transfer of property or savings 
 

• Excessive payment for care 
and/or services 
• Individual unaware of the amount 
of his or her income  
• Depleted bank account 
• Sudden appearance of previously 
uninvolved relatives/friends 
• Change in payee, power of 
attorney or will 
• Caregiver is overly frugal 
• Unexplained cash flow 
 

• Unusual household composition 
• Chronic failure to pay bills 
• Individual is kept isolated 
• Signatures on check that do not 
resemble the individual’s signature 
• Individual doesn’t know what 
happened to money 
• Checks no longer come to house 
• Individual reports signing papers 
and doesn’t know what was signed 
 

 
The Indicators of Adult Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation (page 2 of this form) should be retained by the  
mandated reporter.  Suspicions of abuse, neglect or exploitation should be reported to the 24-hour, 
toll-free APS hotline at 1-888-832-3858 or to the local department of social services.  
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