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Virginia Department of Health 

Office of Licensure and Certification 
 

Revised 11/01/12 

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about  
Abortion Facility Licensure  

 

The VDH Office of Licensure and Certification (OLC) has received questions from 

potential licensees concerning implementation of the Regulations for Licensure of 

Abortion Facilities, 12 VAC 5-412.  This document provides responses to those questions. 

New entries are dated when added.  

INFORMED WRITTEN CONSENT (11/01/12) 

Q.: What is meant by "informed consent" for an abortion and how will compliance with informed 

consent be assessed? 

 

A.: The OLC has produced a Guidance Document regarding informed written consent which is available 

at: 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/documents/2012/pdf/Guidance%20Document%20Informed

%20Consent%20final%20approved%2007%2020%2012.pdf 

 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE  

Q: Where can I find information about being licensed as an abortion facility?  

A: Information regarding licensure of abortion facilities can be found on the Office of Licensure and 

Certification (OLC) web site at: www.vdh.virginia.gov/olc/laws or 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/abortionfacilities.htm  

Q: When will an application for licensure be available?  

A: The application for licensure will be posted on OLC’s website when the regulation becomes 

effective.  

Q: Is there a deadline by which facilities must submit an application for licensure?  

A: An abortion facility must submit an application for licensure as soon as possible after the 

regulations become effective.  If an abortion facility files an application for licensure and submits 

written notification of survey readiness within 90 calendar days of the effective date of the regulations, 

OLC will not initiate enforcement action.  

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/olc/laws
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/abortionfacilities.htm
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Q: What supporting documentation needs be submitted to VDH with the application for 

licensure?  

A: The following information is required to be submitted with the application:  

1. Proposed organizational chart;  

2. Facility’s disaster preparedness plan (12 VAC 5-412-350);  

3. Facility’s patient rights policies and procedures (12 VAC 5-412-210);  

4. Job description, qualifications and specific responsibilities of the administrator (12 VAC5-412-

170F); and  

5. If applicable, a plan consistent with 12 VAC 5-412-380, signed by the facility administrator, 

describing how the facility will come into compliance within two years of the date of licensure.  

 

Q: What is the application fee?  

A: The application fee is $75.00 and must accompany the application for licensure.  

Q: Can existing abortion facilities remain operational during the time between when the 

regulation becomes effective and when a license is issued?  

A: If an abortion facility files an application for licensure and submits written notification of survey 

readiness within 90 calendar days of the effective date of the regulations, OLC will not initiate 

enforcement action related to operating without a license during that time period.  

VDH ACCESS TO ABORTION FACILITIES  

Q: Does a VDH representative have the right to enter the abortion facility at any time?  

A: Yes.  Virginia Code § 32.1-25 states: “Upon presentation of appropriate credentials and upon consent 

of the owner or custodian, the [State Health] Commissioner or his designee shall have the right to enter 

at any reasonable time onto the property to inspect, investigate, evaluate, conduct tests or take samples 

for testing as he reasonably deems necessary in order to determine compliance with…any regulations of 

the Board….” Appropriate credentials means a Commonwealth of Virginia authorized photo ID that is 

clearly visible upon entering the facility.   

 
Q: Will there be specific procedures to enable a facility administrator to verify the identity of a 

VDH representative seeking to obtain access to a facility and its patient records?  

A: The administrator can call the VDH Office of Licensure and Certification at (804)367-2102 to verify 

the identification of its employees seeking to obtain access to the facility or patient records.  

 

 



Virginia Department of Health 

Office of Licensure and Certification 

3 

 

THE PLAN OF CORRECTION (POC)  

Q. If the initial licensure on-site survey finds deficiencies; will the facility be able to submit a POC 

(Plan of Correction) for review?  

A. If the on-site survey identifies deficiencies, the licensure application may be denied.  However, at 

the discretion of the State Health Commissioner, OLC may offer the facility the opportunity to 

submit a plan of correction.   

 
Q: If deficiencies are identified during the on-site survey, may a facility continue providing 

abortion services if a plan of correction has been submitted?  

A: VDH will not initiate enforcement action while it determines whether the POC submitted by the 

facility is approved or denied. If the POC is denied, the facility’s application for licensure will be denied 

and if the facility continues to meet the definition of an abortion facility and operates without a license, 

enforcement action may be taken.  If an application for licensure is denied, the abortion facility must 

reapply for licensure.    

Q: How will VDH evaluate the POC?  

A: The POC will be carefully reviewed by VDH for compliance with the regulations. An on-site survey 

may be conducted before VDH determines if the POC can be approved or denied.  

PATIENT CARE  

Q: 12 VAC 5-412-110 states that a VDH representative must, upon request, be furnished with “a 

list of current patients.”  What does “current patients” mean?  

A: “Current patients” means patients receiving services on the day of survey as well as a list of all 

facility patients for the previous 12 months.  

Q: Our facility includes a separate non-medical wing for use by our educators, 

development/fundraising staff and public policy staff.  Do the personnel requirements of 12 VAC 5-

412-170 pertain only to medical personnel that work in the medical area and that have direct 

involvement with patients?  

A: This regulation is applicable to all employees of the abortion facility.  

Q: 12 VAC 5-412-170 requires that personnel records shall be “readily available” for review by a 

VDH representative during inspection.  Does electronic availability meet these regulatory 

requirements if personnel records are maintained off site?   

A: Yes – electronic availability is acceptable for meeting the intent of this regulation, provided VDH 
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representatives are given direct access to the records.  System security or system failures cannot be 

used to delay immediate access to requested records.  

Q: 12 VAC 5-412-240(B) requires that “each patient” be provided with abortion procedure and 

post-abortion counseling information.  Does this requirement apply to all patients or only to those 

patients seeking abortion services?  

A: This requirement applies to patients seeking abortion services.  

 
COMPLAINT FILING  

Q: 12 VAC 5-412-210(D) states that “The patient shall be given a copy of the complaint 

procedures in a language or manner she understands at the time of admission to service.” Does 

this regulation apply to all patients or only those patients seeking abortion services?  

A: This regulation applies to patients seeking abortion services.   

Q: Can VDH provide some parameters for complying with 12 VAC 5-412-210(A)?  

A: It is important that any facility providing medical services, regardless of the type or category of those 

services, have the ability to communicate effectively with its patients who may not understand English 

and are not accompanied or represented by an interpreter or a sign language interpreter.  Bilingual print 

media and electronic translation services are acceptable methods for meeting the regulatory provisions.  

Q: How will the OLC investigate complaints that it receives concerning abortion facilities?   

A: As with all health care entities licensed by VDH, all complaints will be reviewed and investigated for 

regulatory compliance.  An investigation may include an on-site survey. At the conclusion of the 

investigation, findings will be documented and the allegations determined to be either substantiated or 

unsubstantiated. If the allegations are substantiated, the facility will be required to submit a POC.  

COMPLIANCE WITH BUILDING DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS  

Q: Under what circumstances must a facility submit a plan pertaining to building design and 

construction requirements with its application for licensure?  

A: A plan is not required to be submitted with the application unless it is determined by the facility 

administrator or the OLC during the licensure process that the building is not in compliance with 12 

VAC 5-412-380.  In such cases, the plan needs to describe how the facility will come into compliance 

with 12 VAC 5-412-380 within two years from the date of licensure.   

Q: How will the plan be evaluated by VDH?  
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A: Each plan submitted to comply with 12 VAC 5-412-380 will be reviewed on an individual basis to 

determine if the plan can be approved.  

Q: If a facility knows that it cannot meet the requirements of 12 VAC 5-412-380 and will need to 

move its operation to a new site in order to come into compliance within two years from the date 

of licensure, what is needed to accompany the application?  

 
A: In such cases, the plan submitted with the application will need to describe how relocation will 

enable the facility to come into compliance with 12 VAC 5-412-380 within two years from the date of 

licensure. 

Q:  How will VDH interpret the Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities, 

2010 edition in order to determine compliance with 12 VAC 5-412-380? 

A:  VDH OLC Surveyors will assess the facilities for compliance with the relevant sections of Part 1 and 

sections 3.1-1 through 3.1-8 and section 3.7 of Part 3 of the Guidelines.   Pursuant to sections 1.2-2 and 

3.1-1.2.1of the Guidelines, each abortion facility will be required to have a functional program. In 

accordance with section 3.7-1.2.1, the extent of the diagnostic, clinical, and administrative facilities to be 

provided will be determined by the services contemplated and the estimated patient load as described in 

the functional program.  Key compliance requirements are listed below: 

 Abortion procedure room space requirements must meet the provisions of the Guidelines 

pertaining to either a treatment room or class A operating room depending upon the level of 

anesthesia provided (see below) 

 Air handling provisions of the Guidelines pertaining to treatment rooms are generally relevant 

and applicable to all abortion facilities subject to the Regulations for Licensure of Abortion 

Facilities.  

o Abortion procedure rooms shall be provided a minimum of two air changes per hour of 

outside air.  

o Air supplied to all abortion procedure rooms shall be filtered through filters of at least 30 

percent efficiency rating.  

 All public corridors shall be at least 5 feet wide.   

 All staff only corridors shall be at least 44 inches wide.  

 

Facilities that administer no or only minimal sedation (as defined at 18VAC85-20-310) shall demonstrate 

compliance with the following minimum standards for design and construction: 

 Abortion procedure rooms must meet the space requirements of treatment rooms as per Guidelines 

section 3.1-3.2.4.   

 Each such room shall have a minimum clear floor area of 120 square feet and a minimum 

clearance of 3 feet at each side and at the foot of the procedure table. 

 

Facilities that administer moderate sedation (as defined at 18VAC85-20-310) will have to demonstrate 

compliance with the following minimum standards for design and construction: 
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 Abortion procedure rooms must meet the space requirements of class A operating room as per 

Guidelines section 3.7-3.3.2.   

 Each such room shall have a minimum clear floor area of 150 square feet and a minimum 

clearance of 3 feet 6 inches at each side and at the foot of the procedure table. 

  

Q: The design guidelines in Sections 1.2-2 and 3.7 of the Guidelines for Design and Construction 

of Health Care Facilities, 2010 edition, call for a detailed functional program.  How does VDH 

intend to interpret this guideline?  

A: The functional program is intended to assist the providers in determining their compliance with the 

applicable design and construction requirements for the service they provide. Facilities are not required to 

submit, as part of their application for licensure, a written document describing their functional program. 

However, the facility may be required to supply supporting evidence of how the facility meets the 

Guidelines. Developing a functional program will assist the administrator in evaluating the applicability 

of the Guidelines, as well as assisting the surveyor during the on-site survey.  

Q: Section 3.7 of the Guidelines identifies three classifications of operating rooms. Are facilities 

required to have operating rooms even for non-sterile procedures? If so which classification 

will be required?  

A: Each provider will be reviewed for compliance with 12 VAC 5-412-380 based on the services and 

procedures they are performing.  
 

REQUESTS FOR VARIANCES  

Q.: What is meant by "temporary variance" for an abortion facility and what are the 

requirements/process for obtaining one? (11/01/12) 

 

A.: The OLC has produced a Guidance Document regarding temporary variances for abortion facilities 

which is available at: 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/documents/2012/pdf/Abortion%20Facility%20Variance%2

0Guidance.pdf 

 

Q: Can facilities seek variances to certain regulatory requirements, and under what 

circumstances?   

A: The Regulations authorize the State Health Commissioner to issue temporary variances.  An abortion 

facility can request a variance to a particular standard when the requirement poses an impractical 

hardship unique to the facility and when a variance would not endanger the safety or well-being of 

patients, employees, or the public. Consideration of a variance is initiated when a written request is 

submitted to the Director of the Office of Licensure and Certification. Temporary variances may be 

granted for up to the duration of the remaining licensure period.  

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/documents/2012/pdf/Abortion%20Facility%20Variance%20Guidance.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/AcuteCare/documents/2012/pdf/Abortion%20Facility%20Variance%20Guidance.pdf
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The request for variance must describe the impractical hardship unique to the facility caused by the 

enforcement of the requirements.  When possible, the request should include proposed alternatives to 

meet the purpose of the requirements which will ensure the protection and wellbeing of patients, 

employees and the public.  

 

The State Health Commissioner can only authorize variances to the agency’s own licensing 

requirements, not to regulations of another agency or to any requirements in federal, state, or local laws.  
 

The facility shall develop procedures for monitoring the implementation of any approved variances to 

assure the ongoing collection of any data relevant to the variance and the presentation of any later report 

concerning the variance as requested by OLC. At no time shall a variance for one facility be extended to 

general applicability.  

Q: Can a variance be rescinded or modified?  

A: Yes, a variance may be rescinded or modified at the discretion of the Commissioner.   

GENERAL  

Q: Will abortion facilities be required to meet all the inpatient hospital requirements contained in 

Article 1 of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia (§ 32.1-123 et seq.)?  

A: VDH intends to only take enforcement action for violations of Virginia Code §§ 32.1-125.01, 32.1-

125.4, 32.1-132, 32.1-135.2, and 32.1-137.01 or the Regulations for Licensure of Abortion Facilities.  

 

Q. How will VDH surveyors protect patient confidentially while reviewing patient records?  
 

A: VDH staff are bound by confidentiality laws and agency policy. No record that contains personal 

health information will be released publically.  If deficiencies are found during review of patient records, 

documentation which supports the deficiency citation may be copied and retained in the surveyor’s 

working papers. However, the regulations at 12 VAC 5-412-110(-B) state “If copies of records are 

removed from the premises, patient names and addresses contained in such records shall be redacted by 

the abortion facility before removal.”  

 

Q:  If we submit our facility disaster preparedness plans with the licensure application as required, 

will they be treated as confidential information and not be released in response to a Freedom of 

Information Act (FOIA) request? (2/10/2012) 

A:  Documents submitted to VDH OLC as part of the licensure application are subject to FOIA and VDH 

cannot guarantee absolute protection from disclosure.  Concerning facility disaster preparedness plans, 

there are two FOIA exclusions under the Code of Virginia (§2.2-3705.2(3) and (4)) that may be 

applicable and could give VDH discretion to withhold certain documents if a FOIA request was made.  

VDH recommends that if you believe one of those exclusions would apply to any portion of the disaster 
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preparedness plan being submitted then you should clearly mark those portions.  If a FOIA request were 

to be received, VDH would consider this information as to the applicability of the FOIA exclusion;  

however the discretion to disclose or withhold is ultimately VDH's.  

 

Q: Will review of facility policies and procedures be restricted to the facility?  

A: VDH surveyors will be reviewing policies that are necessary to determine whether an abortion 

facility is in compliance with the Regulations.  

Q: If I am the sole owner of an abortion facility must there be a Board of Directors or separate 

governing body?  
 

A: No, a sole owner can be the governing body of an abortion facility.    

 

Q: If an abortion facility performs four or less first trimester abortions per month, is it subject to 

any state legal requirements?  
 

A: Yes. All abortions performed in the Commonwealth are required (pursuant to 12 VAC5-550120(B)) 

to be reported to the VDH Division of Vital Records using the Report of Induced Termination of 

Pregnancy form.   

VDH will provide abortion facilities with these forms.  Additional forms can be obtained from the 

VDH Division of Vital Records:  

Telephone: (804) 662-6233 (Donna Owens)  

(804) 482-7936 (Janice Gardner)  

Mail:  Division of Vital Records Attn: 

Cashier Office  

P. O. Box 1000 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 
 

Email: vitalrec.supplies@vdh.virginia.gov  

In addition, prior to performing any abortion, physicians are required (pursuant to §18.2-76 of the Code 

of Virginia) to obtain the informed written consent of the pregnant woman. In obtaining the informed 

written consent, the physician is required to offer the pregnant woman the opportunity to review the 

following printed materials published by VDH:  

 Abortion: Making An Informed Decision  

 Fetal Development: Understanding the Stages  

mailto:vitalrec.supplies@vdh.virginia.gov
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 A Virginia Guide to Family Planning, Genetics and Social Services  

 

VDH will provide abortion facilities with these materials.  Additional copies are available upon request 

from:  

VDH Division of Child and Family Health Attn:  

Ardriene Stuart  

109 Governor Street, 8th Floor West 

Richmond, VA 23219  

Phone:  (804) 864-7755 Fax:  (804) 864-7771   Email:  Ardriene.stuart@vdh.virginia.gov  

NOTE:  Please check back periodically as this FAQ document will be updated as needed.  


