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Protocol for Primary Care Providers  
Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program 

Virginia Department of Health  

This document provides guidance and recommended procedures for Primary Care Providers 
(PCP) to implement requirements that are specified in the Code of Virginia, Section 32.1-64 
12VAC5-801 and Regulations for the Administration of the Virginia Hearing Impairment 
Identification and Monitoring System2.  

These PCP protocols were first developed in 1999 and revised in 2004 and 2011. The 2018 
revision represents the best practice that the Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Program (VEHDIP) Advisory Committee recommends based on the policy statement Year 2007 
Position Statement: Principles and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Programs, Joint Committee on Infant Hearing3 and other relevant sources such as the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and National Center on Birth Defects and 
Developmental Disabilities.  The VEHDIP Advisory Committee consists of representatives from 
relevant groups including, but not limited to, primary care physicians, otolaryngologists, 
audiologists, speech pathologists, nurses, parents and educators of the deaf and hard of hearing. 
It has been unanimously agreed that Virginia diagnostic PCP protocol standards have followed, 
and should continue to follow, an exceptional model of evidence-based practice and should 
reflect an excellence beyond minimal standards of care. This document reflects that philosophy. 

It is important to recognize that newborn hearing screening is only one component of a 
comprehensive approach to the management of childhood hearing loss.  It is recommended that 
the PCP inform the parents or guardian of follow-up diagnostic services, counseling, Part C 
Early Intervention programs, and parental education and family support organizations.  This 
comprehensive process should be administered by a multidisciplinary team including, but not 
limited to, audiologists, physicians, educators of the deaf and hard of hearing, speech/language 
pathologists, nurses, parents and educators of deaf and hard of hearing. 

VEHDIP goals are to identify congenital hearing loss by 3 months of age following the CDC   
1-3-6 methodology:

1 – All newborns will be screened for hearing loss before 1 month of age. 

3 – All newborns who have failed their hearing screen will receive a diagnostic 
evaluation before 3 months of age. 

1 To access the Code of Virginia citation, go to: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency5/
chapter191/section260/ 
2 To access the Regulations for the Administration of the Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 
Monitoring System, go to http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC12005.HTM#C0080 
3 To access the Executive Summary for JCIH Year 2007 Position Statement: Principles & Guidelines for 
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Programs go to http://www.asha.org/policy/PS2007-00281.htm

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-64.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC12005.HTM#C0080
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency5/chapter191/section260/
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6 – All infants diagnosed with hearing loss will be enrolled in early intervention services 
before 6 months of age 

I. Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program Overview

The Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program is required to collect, maintain, 
and evaluate hearing screening data.  Program staff must provide follow-up, including 
communicating with the parent or guardian to assure that they have the information needed to 
seek timely and appropriate follow-up services.  They should provide training and technical 
assistance to hospitals, audiologists and PCPs. Lastly, the program is required to review and 
evaluate the surveillance system including follow-up rates, false-positive rates, false-negative 
rates, referral mechanisms and effectiveness of tracking. 

Best practice guidelines for the VEHDIP include: 
• Monitor hospital data and rate of reporting.
• Provide epidemiological analysis of the data for planning and program management

purposes.
• Provide training and technical assistance to birthing centers.

Providers performing initial hearing screening are required to perform this screen prior to 
hospital discharge, and should report results within seven days but no later than fourteen days 
after discharge to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) and to the PCP from whom the 
infant will receive care after discharge. They must provide written information to the parent that 
includes the benefits of newborn hearing screening, the procedures used for screening, and 
recommendations for further follow up. A list of audiologic providers can be accessed on 
EHDIPALS.org or a list of pediatric audiologists can be found on the back of all the VEHDIP 
letters to parents and PCPs. 

A. Reporting

The required methodology for reporting initial newborn hearing screenings to the VDH is via the 
Virginia Infant Screening and Infant Tracking System (VISITS) database. If a provider is unable 
to enter results into VISITS, they may use the Audiological Reporting Form—including test 
results, diagnosis, and recommendations—and submit to the VDH within seven days but no later 
than fourteen days of the testing.  The Audiological Reporting Form, including risk indicators 
and instructions, can be downloaded from the VDH website www.vahealth.org/hearing.  

Best practice guidelines for PCPs: 
• Review the hearing screening results and risk indicator findings from hospitals.
• Referral of infants who fail the initial screen immediately to a pediatric audiologist for a

repeat hearing screening or diagnostic assessment.
• Obtain and review the diagnostic evaluation results from audiological providers.
• Ensure infants with a hearing loss diagnosis receive a referral for evaluation by an

otolaryngologist, at least one examination to assess visual acuity by a pediatric
ophthalmologist, and for genetic testing and counseling.

http://www.vahealth.org/hearing
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• Ensure that parents are informed and/or advised about enrollment into Part C Early
Intervention, preferably by six months of age. Visit the Infant & Toddler Connection of
Virginia website www.infantva.org for information on referral processes and contacts.

• Screen and refer infants diagnosed with persistent conductive hearing loss secondary to
otitis media with effusion for otolaryngology and audiological assessment for
confirmation of diagnosis to avoid delayed diagnosis of sensorineural hearing loss.

• Refer directly to an audiologist for rescreening NICU infants who do not pass an
automated ABR. For rescreening, a complete screening of both ears is recommended
even if only one ear failed the initial screening.

• All infants readmitted in the first month of life, when there are conditions associated with
potential of hearing loss (such as exchange transfusions for hyperbilirubinemia or
confirmed sepsis) need to have audiological testing.

• All infants and toddlers should have an objective developmental screen with a
standardized tool at 9-, 18-, and 24-to-30 months of age or at any time the healthcare
professional or family has concerns about speech or language skills.

• Refer infants and toddlers who do not pass the speech-language portion of a standardized
developmental screen, or whose behavior/responses cause concern regarding hearing or
language, for speech-language evaluation and audiology assessment.

Persons providing hearing or audiological services to infants after hospital discharge are 
required to provide the screening or evaluation results to the parent or guardian and to the child’s 
primary care provider.  If a PCP provides office-based hearing screenings, the PCP is responsible 
to ensure that the screening is done on the same equipment as was used for the initial hearing 
screening. The PCP should only conduct one rescreening in the office.  

A variety of technologies are available to identify hearing loss in the first days of life. These 
techniques are physiological measures of the status of the peripheral auditory system that are 
highly correlated with hearing status.  The two methodologies generally accepted as effective for 
universal newborn screening are: 

1) Auditory brainstem response (ABR) – reflects the activity of the cochlea, auditory
nerve, and auditory brainstem pathways. For use in NICU and/or well baby nursery.

2) Otoacoustic emissions (OAE) – reflects sensitivity to outer hair cell dysfunction. For
use in well baby nursery.

Infants who fail hearing screening in one or both ears using ABR testing should not be re-
screened using OAE testing.  OAE is not sufficient to rule out Auditory Neuropathy. Due to the 
increased incidence of auditory neuropathy in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) patient 
population, newborns who receive this level of care should have both ears screened using ABR 
testing prior to discharge or transfer to a lower level of newborn services. Immitance testing may 
help distinguish conductive or mixed hearing loss from sensorineural hearing loss (SNHL). 

http://www.infantva.org/
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II. Interpretation of Hearing Screen Results

Table I summarizes information on hearing screen results and associated primary healthcare 
provider (PHP) actions. 

Table I:  Interpretation of Hearing Screen Results 

Screening Result Interpretation by PCP PCP Follow-up Recommendations 
Passed Screen Infant passed in both ears Monitor communication and language 

development. 
Passed with Risk Infant passed in both ears but 

is at risk for progressive or 
late onset hearing loss  

Inform the parent of the need for a 
diagnostic audiological assessment 
between 12 to 24 months of age. Perform 
developmental surveillance and screening 
consistent with American Academy of 
Pediatrics recommendations and refer as 
needed.  Early and more frequent 
assessments may be indicated for children 
with CMV syndromes and syndromes at 
risk for late onset of hearing loss. 

Missed Screen Infant was not screened 
before discharge from the 
hospital. 

Advise the parents that screening needs to 
be completed immediately.   

Failed Screen Infant did not pass in one or 
both ears 

Infants who fail Automated Auditory 
Brainstem Response (AABR) testing 
should not be rescreened by OAE testing, 
because they are presumed at risk for a 
subsequent diagnosis of auditory 
neuropathy/dyssynchrony. Infants should 
be tested again using AABR no later than 
one month after hospital discharge.  
Ensure that any infant failing their hearing 
screen or rescreen is referred to a pediatric 
audiologist as soon as possible. Refer to 
EHDI-PALS at http:ehdipals.org for 
resources.  

Infant not born in a 
hospital 

Any infant born outside of 
hospital facility, e.g., home 
birth 

Refer for initial hearing screening as soon 
as possible after birth. 

NICU Infants Infants admitted to the NICU All Infants admitted to NICU should be 
screened with AABR. If infants are 
admitted to the NICU > 5 days and pass 
the AABR then further follow up is 
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needed for potential delayed onset of 
hearing loss. See Pass with Risk above for 
recommendations on follow up.  

A flow chart depicting the newborn hearing screening and follow-up process is in Attachment 1. 

III. PCP Recommended Actions for Infants with Confirmed Hearing Loss

Every infant with confirmed hearing loss needs medical evaluation to determine the etiology of 
hearing loss, identify related physical conditions, and make recommendations for treatment and 
referrals to other resources. Relevant professionals should give resource information to the 
parent (or guardian) of any child found to have a hearing loss, including but not limited to, the 
degrees and effects of hearing loss, communication options, amplification options, the 
importance of medical follow-up, and agencies and organizations that provide services to 
children with hearing loss and their families. The primary healthcare provider should thoroughly 
document family history and the mother’s prenatal risk factors.  This will support ongoing care 
for the child as well as monitoring other children in the family.  Document: 

• Prenatal conditions: ototoxic medication exposure, pregnancy complications,
immunization status of mother for rubella, maternal status for syphilis, maternal drug
and/or alcohol use, and history of frequent spontaneous abortions.

• Family history: hereditary childhood sensorineural hearing loss and family members with
permanent hearing loss with onset before age 30 not related to trauma or medical
condition.

Complete a physical examination with special attention to: 
• Minor anomalies: unusual morphologic features occurring in less than 5% of the

population with no cosmetic or functional significance.
• Major anomalies: dysmorphic features that cause significant cosmetic or functional

abnormality, such as cleft palate, cardiac, limb, or other skeletal deformities.
• Poor growth, microcephaly, or abnormal neurological exam.

Obtain laboratory and imaging studies: 
• Urine culture or oral polymerase chain reaction (PCR) swab for cytomegalovirus (CMV)

before aged 2 weeks if prenatal CMV infection is suspected.
• Testing for rubella, syphilis, or toxoplasmosis consistent with history of findings and

immunization status of mothers.
• EKG if cardiac condition suspected.
• Skeletal survey if growth delayed or disproportionate.
• Head CT or MRI if neurological exam abnormal. Temporal bone CT or MRI may be

indicated after obtaining other laboratory or audiological testing to evaluate for inner ear
abnormalities that would complicate further care recommendations (i.e. cochlear
implantation).

Refer as follows: 
• To otolaryngology (ENT).
• To ophthalmology/cardiology/nephrology evaluation if indicated.
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• For genetic evaluation:
o If there are significant dysmorphic features.
o A connexin gene assay where there is a family history of deafness
o Siblings with increased risk of having hearing loss for an audiological

evaluation. Most important if moderate-to-severe-to-profound bilateral SNHL.
• To a parent to parent support organization.

IV. Risk Indicators

Birth hospitals in Virginia are responsible for determining the risk status for hearing loss on 
every newborn regardless of the results of the hearing screen.  Risk-status data assist with 
monitoring for progressive, delayed-onset, and/or conductive hearing loss.  VDH recognizes the 
risk indicators identified by the policy statement Year 2007 Position Statement: Principles and 
Guidelines for Early Detection and Intervention Programs, Joint Committee on Infant Hearing 
(See Attachment 2). 
Some indicators may not be determined during the course of the hospital stay.  Therefore, infants 
and young children who have late-onset or late-identified risk indicators should be monitored for 
speech, language, and hearing developmental milestones by the primary healthcare provider 
during well-child visits. 

The following diagram summarizes processes that should be followed to ensure infants and 
children who are at risk for hearing loss receive appropriate audiological follow-up. 

Some of these indicators are not present and/or would not be identified in the newborn period.  
These include parental concern and some neurodegenerative disorders or sensory motor 
neuropathies.  These are included in the risk indicator list because parents and physicians should 
be informed about all indicators that can contribute to development of hearing loss beyond the 
newborn period. The child’s physician is to report risk indicators which are identified after the 
newborn period to the VEHDIP in order to allow for follow-up.  

V. Contacts

For more information or further assistance, families are encouraged to contact:    
Virginia Department of Health 
Office of Family Health Services  
Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program  
109 Governor Street, 9th Floor  
Richmond, VA 23219   
Phone: Toll Free 1-866-493-1090   TTY 7-1-1 
Fax: 804-864-7771  
Website: newbornhearingtestva.com  
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Initial Screening Results 
(Before discharge, but no later than 1 month of age) 

VI. Attachments

Attachment I:  Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program 
Process Flow Chart 

                  

 PRIMARY CARE PROVIDER          PARENT              VDH 
          

                                                                                 
                                                                             

              

                                                   
 
 
                                                                        

  
 

 

PCP refers infant to Part C Early 
Intervention before 6 months of 
age.  

VDH refers infant to Part C Early 
Intervention before 6 months of age. 

VDH notifies parent or guardian by mail 
or phone to remind of need for follow-up. 

PCP advises parent or guardian of need 
for follow-up at first well child visit 
and refers to a VDH approved 
audiologic facility. 

Primary Care Provider (PCP) 
notified of hearing screen results and 
recommendations for further testing. 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 
notified of hearing screening results within 
two weeks of discharge. 

Schedule hearing screening 
appointment as soon as possible 
but no later than one month after 
discharge. 

• Parent counseled.
• PCP notified within 2 weeks of visit.
• VDH notified within 2 weeks of visit.
• If at risk, recommend evaluation

between 12 to 24 months.

VDH contacts parent or guardian by phone or mail. PCP refers infant for audiological 
evaluation. 

Audiology Diagnostic Results 
(Before 3 months of age) 

HEARING LOSS NORMAL HEARING 

• Parent counseled.
• PCP notified within 2 weeks of visit.
• VDH notified within 7 days but no

later than 14 days of visit.
• If at risk—recommend evaluation

between12 to 24 months.

PCP notified within 2 weeks of 
visit. 

PCP notified within 2 weeks of 
visit.

Parent counseled 
during visit. 

VDH notified within 7 days but no later than 14 days of 
visit.  

Audiology Screening Results 
(Before 1 month of age)  
FAILED 

Parent takes infant for 
diagnostic audiological 
appointment. 

 

Parent contacts Early Intervention 
resources. 

Parent or guardian notified of 
hearing screening results in writing 
and prior to discharge with follow-
up recommendations. 

Parent counseled and referred to 
Part C Early Intervention as soon 
as possible, preferably before 6 
months of age. 

VDH notified within 7 days but no later 
than 14 days of visit. 
 

PASSED 
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Attachment 2:  Risk Indicators for Progressive or Delayed-Onset Hearing Loss 
(For Use with Neonates and Infants Through 2 Years of Age) 

Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss 
• Mother of child • Grandmother of child • 1st cousin of child
• Father of child • Grandfather of child • More than one relative of the

same parent
• Sister of child • Aunt of child
• Brother of child • Uncle of child

Stigmata or other findings associated with a syndrome known to include a sensorineural or conductive hearing loss 
or Eustachian tube dysfunction 

• Branchio-oto-renal (BOR) • Stickler • Trisomy 21 – Down syndrome
• Noonan • Williams • Trisomy 18 – Edwards syndrome
• CHARGE association • Zellweger • Trisomy 13 – Patau syndrome
• Pierre Robin • Goldenhar (oculo-auriculo-

vertebral or OAV)
• Trisomy 9 – Mosaic syndrome

• Rubenstein-Taybi • Trisomy 8 – Warkany syndrome

Postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss 
• Confirmed bacterial

meningitis
• Confirmed viral meningitis

In utero infections 
• Cytomegalovirus • Rubella • Toxoplasmosis
• Herpes • Syphilis • Zika

Neonatal indicators 
• Intensive care greater than

(>) 5 days
• Exposure to ototoxic

medications: at risk
aminoglycoside exposure

• Hyperbilirubinemia requiring
exchange transfusion

• Extracorporeal membrane
oxygenation (ECMO)

• Mechanical ventilation

Syndromes associated with progressive hearing loss 
• Neurofibromatosis • Jervell & Lange-Nielson • Usher
• Osteopetrosis • Waardenburg
• Alport • Pendred

Neurodegenerative disorders, such as 
• Hunter syndrome • Charcot-Marie-Tooth

syndrome
• Friedreich’s ataxia

Head trauma requiring hospitalization 
• Basal skull/temporal bone

fracture 
Other – specify if chosen 

Parental or caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech, language, and/or developmental delay 

Craniofacial Anomalies 
• Pinna • Atresia • Choanal atresia
• Cleft palate • Microtia • Temporal bone anomalies

Chemotherapy 
Based on Year 2007 Position Statement: Principles and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Programs, Joint 
Committee on Infant Hearing.
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