Primary Care Providers Role In Early Hearing Detection & Intervention





All newborns born in Virginia are required by law to receive a newborn hearing screen prior to discharge from the hospital. Hearing plays a big role in language development and it begins early. The Division of Immunization and Office of Family Health Services at the Virginia Department of Health are collaborating with primary care providers (PCP) across Virginia to increase follow-up visits.

What can you do as the Primary Care Provider?

The Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (VA EHDI) program will notify you via a letter indicating that this child is in need of further testing. As their PCP:

- Make an audiology referral to ensure the child has a hearing re-screen by age 1 month and has a diagnosis by age 3 months.
- Visit EHDIPALS.org or refer to the back of the letter you receive from VA EHDI for a list of audiology facilities.
- If a child is diagnosed with hearing loss, ensure they receive appropriate intervention by age 6 months.

Virginia Immunization Information Systems

To request VIIS training, send an email to: VIISInfo@vdh.virginia.gov or call 866-375-9795

Did you know?

You can review your patients hearing results in the Virginia Immunization Information System (VIIS).

Parents depend on you to be the expert. For more information on the 2007 Joint Committee on Infant Hearing Position Statement visit: www.pediatric.aapublications.org

Virginia has protocols for PCPs. For a copy, visit:

www.vdh.virginia.gov/early-hearing-detection-and-intervention/professionals

For family stories and training resources, visit: www.vdh.virginia.gov/early-hearing-detection-and-intervention

