
 

 

Frequently Asked Questions:  
DTaP and Tdap Requirements and Insurance Coverage, Virginia (9/2014) 
 
1. What’s the difference between DTaP and Tdap? 

DTaP vaccines are for children and licensed for those ages 6 weeks through 6 years of age. Tdap vaccine is meant for adolescents 
and adults, and is recommended as a one-time dose for persons 11 year of age and older (and underimmunized 7-10 years).  

 
2. What pertussis-containing vaccinations are required for school and college entry in Virginia? 

 Children enrolling in kindergarten and newly-enrolling 1st-graders should have four doses of DTaP with one dose 
administered on or after the 4th birthday.  

 Adolescents entering 6th grade and newly-enrolling 7-11th graders should have one dose of Tdap regardless of the interval 
from the last tetanus containing vaccine.  

 Students enrolled in institutions of higher education in Virginia may be required to have a Tdap booster, in accordance with 
the American College Health Association (ACHA) recommendations. 

 
3. Where can I get school-required DTaP and Tdap for my children at little or no cost? 

Vaccinations required by Code of Virginia for entry into daycare or school (K-12) are provided at no cost to children at local health 
departments, including DTaP for children and Tdap for adolescents. Health departments are required to bill third party payers 
(insurance, Medicaid) an administration fee or office visit fee. These fees cannot be charged directly to the client. 

 
Children 18 years of age and younger, who are uninsured and Medicaid-eligible can receive free DTaP and Tdap vaccine through 
the Vaccines For Children (VFC) program at participating private providers’ offices. These providers are allowed to bill the 
administration and office visit fees. 

 
4. Does Virginia require Tdap vaccination for adults? 

If the adult is enrolled in a Virginia institution of higher education, he/she may be required to have a Tdap booster, in accordance with 
the American College Health Association (ACHA) recommendations. Although not required by the Commonwealth, some employers 
may require Tdap vaccination for employment, e.g., in some health care or child care settings. The Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP) has made national recommendations for Tdap vaccination for persons 11 years of age and older. For 
information on Tdap recommendations, see: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd-vac/pertussis/recs-summary.htm  

 
5. Where can I get a Tdap vaccination as an adult? 

Ask your primary care physician or pharmacist about getting a Tdap vaccination. Tdap is also available at local health departments 
throughout Virginia. If you have problems finding a Tdap vaccination, call the Virginia Department of Health’s Division of 
Immunization at 1-800-568-1929.  
 

6. What health insurance plans currently cover Tdap vaccination? 
Some common plans that currently cover Tdap expenses are listed below. Check to make sure that the provider is considered “in-
network” by your particular plan. Out of network benefits vary depending on the type of coverage patients have. 

 Anthem 
 Commercial plans (check with your insurance provider) 
 Medicaid Managed Care plans  
 Medicare Part D (Prescription Plan) 
 Optima 
 Tricare 
 Virginia State Medicaid for Children (less than 19 years of age) 

 
7. Which health insurance plans do not currently cover Tdap expenses? 

The following health insurance plans do not currently cover Tdap. However, the Virginia State Plan (for Medicaid) will sometimes pay 
for Tdap vaccine for adults over 20 years of age if a physician determines medical necessity, uses modifier 22 and attaches notes to 
prove medical necessity. 

 Medicare Part B (Medical Plan) 
 Virginia State Medicaid (fee-for-service) 

 
8. How will health care reform impact coverage of Tdap vaccine? 

The health care reform law mandates that insurance companies cover certain preventive treatments without requiring you to pay a 
co-payment, co-insurance or deductible. This provision of the law went into effect 9/2010. Many vaccines must now be covered for 
free, including Tdap. However, there are some important exceptions. “Grandfathered" plans are exempt from these new rules. If 
the health insurance plan was created before March 23, 2010, these services may not be free. Vaccines administered by a provider 
outside of the individual’s health insurance network may include additional fees. For more information on health care reform:  
http://www.healthcare.gov/   

 

 
Tdap Questions? Call the Virginia Department of Health’s Immunization Division at 1-800-568-1929 


