
Birth, Marriage, Divorce, & Death Certificates 
Available at Your Local Health Department 

 
 
Birth, Marriage, and Divorce Certificates:  
♦ Certified copies of these certificates are available at all local health departments  

if the birth, marriage, or divorce occurred in Virginia.  
 
Death Certificates:  
♦ Death certificates can be filed, and certified copies can be obtained, at any health 

department in Virginia, regardless of where the death occurred.  
♦ If it’s less than 30 days since the filing of the death, you can only get a copy of the 

death certificate from the city/county where it was originally filed.  
♦ Certified copies are available upon request to eligible people.  
 
Who Can Get Copies of Birth, Marriage, Divorce, and Death Certificates:  
♦ Only immediate family members (mother, father, current spouse, husband, wife, 

child, brother, sister, or grandparents) can get copies of birth, marriage, death,  
and divorce certificates, and they must provide a valid ID.  

♦ Legal guardians must provide custody papers in order to get a certificate.  
♦ Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, former spouses, etc. cannot get any copies.  
 
Fees for All Certificates:  
♦ $12 for each certificate and/or search of a vital record.  
♦ Cash, check, money orders, VISA, or MasterCard accepted.  
 
Where to Get Certificates: 
Fredericksburg City 
608 Jackson Street  
Fredericksburg, VA 22401 
540-899-4142 
 
Caroline County 
17202 Richmond Turnpike 
Milford, VA  22514 
(804) 633-5465 
 
 
 

 
 

    King George County 
8097 Kings Highway 
King George, VA 22485 
(540) 775-3111 
 
Spotsylvania County 
9104 Courthouse Rd. 
Holbert Building 
Spotsylvania, VA 22553 
(540) 507-7400 
 

 
 
 

Stafford County 
1300 Courthouse Road 
Stafford, VA 22555 
(540) 659-3101 
 
 
 

   
 
 


