
 
VS6-2/06 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Application for Certification of a Vital Record 

 
Virginia statutes require a fee of $12.00 be charged for each certification of a vital record or for a search of the files when no certification is made.  
Please make check or money order payable to State Health Department.  There is a $50.00 service charge for returned checks. 
 
Name of Requester:  ________________________________________________   Daytime Phone Number (______)___________________________ 
   (person requesting the certificate) 

 

Address: ________________________________________________ City: ___________________________ State: __________________ Zip: ___________________ 

 

What is your relationship to the person named on the certificate? (Check one)     

____ Self   _____ Mother   ____ Father _____ Child   ______ Current Spouse   ____ Sister   _____ Brother   _____ Maternal Grandparent   

_____ Paternal Grandparent   ______Legal Guardian (submit custody order)   _____ Other (Specify) _________________________________ 

 
What is your reason for requesting this certificate? ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
I understand that making a FALSE application for a vital record is a FELONY under state and federal law. 
 

Signature of Requester: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
IMPORTANT:  The person requesting the vital record must submit a copy of their identification.  See list on reverse side. 
 

BIRTH CARDS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE. 
 

BIRTH 
Number    Name at Birth:          
of Copies   If name has changed since birth due to adoption, court order, or any reason 

 Paper: ____________  other than marriage, please list changed name here:  

  
                                     _________________________________________________________________________________  

     

                                      Date of Birth:       Race:    Sex:    
    

    Place of Birth:     Hospital of Birth:     
              (City/County in Virginia)     
    Full Maiden Name of Mother:         

 
    Full Name of Father: _______________________________________________________________ 

       

DEATH    STILLBIRTH 
Number    Name of Deceased: ________________________________________________________________ 

of Copies:  ___________     
     Date of Death:    Age at Death:    Race:               Sex: __________ 

            

    Place of Death:      Hospital Name: ______________________   
               (City/County in Virginia) 

     Full Maiden name of Mother:   _______________________________________________________ 

 
    Full Name of Father: _______________________________________________________________ 

 

MARRIAGE 
Number    Full Name of Husband:         

of Copies: ____________ 
     Full Name of Wife:          

DIVORCE 
Number    Marriage - Date:     Place:       

of Copies: ____________ 

     Divorce - Date:     Place:       
          (City/County in Virginia) 
    If Marriage, place where license was issued: _____________________________________________ 

 

               

Please indicate the address you wish the certificate(s) mailed to in the box below. -- Please type or print clearly. 
 

Name Send Completed Application To: 

Division of Vital Records 

P. O. Box 1000 
Richmond, VA  23218-1000 

(804) 662-6200 

www.vdh.virginia.gov 

Address 

City/State/Zip 

 
 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/


The State Registrar reserves the right (§32.1-271C) to accept or deny any application 

submitted. 

ACCEPTABLE IDENTIFICATION 
SUBMIT ONE (1) DOCUMENT FROM THE PRIMARY LIST OR TWO (2) 

DOCUMENTS FROM THE SECONDARY LIST. 

The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice. 
PRIMARY LIST 

1.  Photo Drivers License issued by US DMV office - unexpired or expired for not more than one year 

2.  Photo Learners/Instruction Permit issue by US DMV office - unexpired or expired for not more than one 
year 

3.  Photo Identification Card issued by US DMV Office - unexpired or expired for not more than one year 

4.  Current Photo Identification Card - (school, employment). Check Cashing Cards are not acceptable 

5.  Military Card - unexpired - active duty or retired member 

6.  U.S. Passport – unexpired 

7.  Foreign Passport with Visa, I-94 or I-94W   - unexpired 

8.  U.S. Certificate of Naturalization - (form N-550, N-570 or N-578) 

9.  U.S. Certificate of Citizenship - (form N-560 or N-561) 

10.  U.S. Citizen Identification Card -  (form I-197) 

11.  Temporary Resident Card - unexpired - (form  I-688) 

12.  Employment Authorization Card  - unexpired - (form I-688A, I-688B) 

13.  Refugee Travel Document - unexpired- (form I-571) 

14.  Resident Alien Card – unexpired - (form I-551) 

15.  Permanent Resident Card - unexpired - (form I-551) 

16.  Northern Marianas Card - unexpired - (form I-551) 

17.  Asylum - A copy of the first and last page of application for Asylum 

18.  Birth Abroad (Consular Report)  of a Citizen of the U.S.A. (form FS-240) 

19.  Birth Abroad (Certification of Report) of a Citizen of the U.S.A. 

20.  Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form 

21.  United States Probation Offender Information Form 

SECONDARY LIST 

22.  U.S. Selective Service Card 

23.  U.S. Military Discharge Papers -  (form DD214) 

24.  Certified School Records/Transcript issued by a U.S. state or territory  

25.  Enrollment, Certificate of - issued by VA Dept of Education 

26.  Life insurance policy 

27.  Health care insurance card 

28.  Welfare/social services identification card with photo - unexpired – issued by municipality 

29.  Photo Drivers License - issued by US DMV office expired not more than 5 years 

30.  Photo Learners/Instruction Permit - issued by US DMV office expired not more than 5 years 

31.  Photo Identification card - issued by US DMV office expired not more than 5 years 

32.  U. S. Passport -  expired not more than 5 years 

33.  Foreign Passport -  expired not more than 5 years, with a VISA, 

34.  Military dependent ID card, with photo - unexpired 

35.  Weapons or gun permit issued by federal state or municipal government-unexpired 

36.  Pilots License – unexpired 

37.  INS form I-797 (applicable only for individuals whose names appear on the form) 

38.  IAP-66 U.S. Department of State form (applicable only for the individuals whose names appear on the 
form). 

39.  Veterans Universal Access Identification Card 
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