
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OF A BIRTH RECORD 

Virginia statutes require a fee of $12.00 be charged for each certification of a vital record or for a search of the files when no certification is made.  Please make check or 
money order payable to State Health Department.  There is a $50.00 service charge for returned checks. 
IMPORTANT: The person requesting the vital record must submit an enlarged, legible (readable) and clear photocopy of their identification.  

REQUESTER INFORMATION DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER 

 Check this box to receive text notifications. 
Message & data rates may apply.   (For cell 
phone numbers only)

NAME OF REQUESTER  (Person completing this application) EMAIL (Include to receive updates about your application) 

NAME OF BUSINESS, if applicable 

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

WHAT IS YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE?
 SELF     MOTHER     FATHER     PARENT ONE     PARENT TWO     ADULT CHILD   CURRENT SPOUSE   ADULT SISTER   ADULT BROTHER 

 MATERNAL GRANDPARENT   PATERNAL GRANDPARENT    LEGAL GUARDIAN (Submit custody paper)   OTHER (Specify)_______________________________ 

WHAT IS YOUR REASON FOR REQUESTING THIS CERTIFICATE? _________________________________________________________________________________   

BIRTH CERTIFICATE INFORMATION 
(Definition of certificate types are listed on the back)    

Please Check:  Birth Certificate   

If name has changed since birth due to adoption, court order or any reason other than marriage, please list changed name here. 
(first)                (middle)       (last)     (suffix)      

DATE OF BIRTH 

FULL NAME OF FATHER OR PARENT TWO:     (first)            (middle)           (last)       (suffix) (maiden name if any) 

(maiden name if any) FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER or PARENT ONE:   (first)                    (middle)       (last)       (suffix) 

PLACE OF BIRTH (city or county in Virginia) HOSPITAL OF BIRTH (if any) 

NAME AT BIRTH   (first)                (middle)         (last)           (suffix) 

Special Use Birth Certificate (Long Form)
(List Special Use, Not Satisfied by Standard Birth Certificate
Processing Time is Significantly Increased) 

 Certificate of Foreign Birth  

TOTAL COPIES ORDERED  _______  
Specify how many of each if ordering both types 

      Birth Cert.       
     Foreign Birth       Special Use

SEX   MALE 

 FEMALE 

Is an amendment/correction needed?   YES  NO   If YES, enter amendment code from the reverse side.  Amendment Code:  ______ 
I understand that making a FALSE application for a vital record is a FELONY under state and federal law.  I certify and affirm that all information on this form is true and 
correct. 
X SIGNATURE OF REQUESTER:  __ ____________________________________________________

Submit one (1) document from the primary list OR two (2) documents from the secondary list. The State Registrar reserves the right (§32.1-271C) to accept or deny any 
application submitted. The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice.  Acceptable secondary identifications are listed on the back. 

ACCEPTABLE PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION LIST 
1. Photo Driver’s License issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired or 

expired for not more than one year) 
2. Learners/Instruction Permit issue by U.S. state, territory or jurisdiction (unexpired or 

expired for not more than one year) 
3. Photo Identification Card issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired 

or expired for not more than one year) 
4. Current Photo Identification Card - (school or employment with identification number; 

check cashing cards are not acceptable) 
5. Unexpired U.S. Military Card of an active duty or retired member 6. U.S. Passport or passport card - unexpired 

7. Unexpired Foreign Passport with Visa, I-94 or I-94W  8. U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (form N-550, N-570, N-578) 

9. US Certificate of Citizenship (form N-560, N-561) 10. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (form I-197) 

11. Temporary Resident Card (unexpired form  I-688) 12. Employment Authorization Document (unexpired form  I-766) 

13. Refugee Travel Document (unexpired form I-571) 14. Resident Alien Card (unexpired form I-551) 

15. Permanent Resident Card (unexpired form I-551) 16. Northern Marianas Card (unexpired form I-551) 

17. Asylum – A copy of the first and last page of application for Asylum 18. Consular Report of Birth Abroad  (form FS-240) 

19. Certification of Report  of Birth of a U.S. citizen (DS-1350) 20. Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form 

21. U.S. Probation Offender Information Form 22. Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545) 

.  

Please indicate the address you wish the certificate(s) mailed to in the box below Please type or print clearly. 
NAME 

ADDRESS 

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE 

VS6B-07/20 

Send Completed Application To: 
Office of Vital Records 
P. O. Box 1000 
Richmond, VA  23218-1000 

Contact Information: 
(804) 662-6200
www.vdh.virginia.gov/vital-records/

 FOR OVR USE ONLY 

UNSIGNED APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED. 

 Delayed Birth Registration Certificate 

Delayed Birth



ACCEPTABLE SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION LIST 
23. U.S. Selective Service Card 24. U.S. Military Discharge Papers (form DD214) 

25. Certified School Records/Transcript issued by a U.S. state or territory  26. Certificate of Enrollment  issued by Virginia Department of Education 

27. Life insurance policy 28. Health care insurance card – (i.e. Medicare Card, Medicaid Card) 

29. Unexpired Welfare/Social Services identification card with photo  issued by 
municipality 

30. State issued driver’s license or learner’s/instruction permit with photo; expired not more 
than 5 years 

31. State issued photo identification card -  expired not more than 5 years 32. U.S. Passport or passport card - expired not more than 5 years 

33. Unexpired Military Dependent I.D. card with photo 34. Foreign Passport - expired not more than 5 years with a U.S. VISA 

35. Unexpired weapon or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal 
government  

36. Unexpired pilot license 

37. Veteran’s Universal Access Identification Card 38. INS form I-797 (applicable only for the individual whose name appears on the form) 

39. USCIS student or dependent  SEVIS I-20 with or without USCIS stamp (Applicant’s 
name must appear on the form) 

40. U.S. Department of State form DS-2019 (Applicant’s name must appear on the form) 

Definition of Certificate Types 
Birth Certificate (Short Form): Standard Birth Certificate needed in a vast majority of situations.  An abstract of the Certificate of Live Birth. Accepted by all local, state and 
federal agencies including passport and social security offices.  Also accepted by schools, social and civic organizations.  
Certificate of Foreign Birth: A birth certificate established for a child born in a foreign country and adopted by parents who were Virginia residents at the time of the adoption. 
Delayed Birth Registration Certificate: A birth certificate established for an individual who birth certificate was not recorded at the time of birth. 
Special Use Birth Certificate (Long Form): Very limited necessity.  This type of request will experience increased processing times.  An image copy of the Certificate of Live 
Birth received from the hospital, birthing facilities or midwife.  Commonly requested for Duel Citizenship applications and special genealogy needs.
Amendment Guidance 
Most items (misspelling of the name of the registrant and/or parents, incorrect date and/or place of birth, incorrect ages of parents, incorrect sex of registrant, etc.) on a birth 
certificate can be corrected either administratively or judicially.  There are several provisions outlined in the Code of Virginia and the Regulations Governing Vital Records 
detailing how a birth certificate can be amended.  To properly advise, the Office of Vital Records must review the birth certificate and work cooperatively with the customer.

Amendment Type Amendment 
Code Comments Who can initiate the 

change Needed Documents 

Establishment of a 
post-adoption birth 
certificate 

ADP To establish a birth certificate for a Virginia 
born child that has been adopted. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Adoptive Parents 
Legal Representative 

Final Order of Adoption and Report of Adoption form certified by the 
Court that finalized the adoption.  Application and/or written request, 
$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's 
ID. 

Establishment of 
Certificate of 
Foreign Birth 

CFB 

To establish a birth certificate  for a child born 
in a foreign country and adopted by parents 
who were Virginia residents at the time of the 
adoption. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Adoptive Parents 
Legal Representative 

If the child was re-adopted in Virginia, a certified copy of the Report of 
Adoption form is needed.  If the child was not re-adopted in Virginia a 
certified copy of the Foreign Adoption Order, a certified copy of the 
translated Final Order of Adoption in English, Home Study report, copy 
of the adopted child’s United States Passport that shows the Immigrant 
Visa, proof of Virginia residency for the adoptive parent(s) at the time of 
adoption.  Application and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, 
Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID. 

Amending 
inaccuracies on a 
birth certificate 

AMD 

There are several provisions outlined in the 
Code of Virginia and the Regulations 
Governing Vital Records detailing how a birth 
certificate can be amended.  To properly 
advise, the Office of Vital Records must 
review the birth certificate. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Immediate Family 
Legal Representative 

A written request detailing the item to be amended on the birth 
certificate, $12 fee and requester's ID.  The written request should also 
include the name of the registrant and date and place of birth, parent 
name as it appears on the birth certificate. 

Change of Gender COG 
Amending the gender on the birth certificate 
for an individual whose gender has changed 
based on clinically appropriate treatment. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Parents 
Legal Representative 

Changing Sex Designation (VS42) form completed by the health care 
provider from whom the person received clinically appropriate treatment 
for gender transition.  Application and/or written request, $10 
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.

Paternity 
Establishment - 
Acknowledgement 
of Paternity (AOP) 
form 

AOP 

The Acknowledge of Paternity form is used to 
establish the paternity of a child born out-of-
wedlock.  If another father's name appears on 
the birth certificate or the mother was married 
at the time of the child's birth or 10 months 
prior to the child's birth, the paternity form 
cannot be used. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Parents 
Legal Representative 

Properly completed Acknowledgement of Paternity form.   Application 
and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 
per copy) and Requester's ID. 

Paternity 
Establishment - 
Court 
Determination of 
Paternity 

CDT 

The paternity of the child has been established 
by a Court in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  
Paternity orders granted by states other than 
Virginia must be domesticated through a 
Virginia court. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Parents 
Legal Representative 

Certified copy of the Virginia Order Determining Paternity.  Application 
and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 
per copy) and Requester's ID. 

Paternity 
Establishment -  
Genetic Test 
Results (DNA) 

DNA 

The child's paternity has been established 
based on genetic test result (DNA).  The 
laboratory determining paternity must be an 
AABB approved laboratory. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Parents 
Legal Representative 

Certified copy of the Genetic Test Results, Voluntary Consent Form 
signed and notarized by father.  Application and/or written request, $10 
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID. 

Surrogacy Contract SUR 

Is an agreement between intended parents, a 
surrogate, and her husband, if any, in which 
the surrogate agrees to be impregnated 
through the use of assisted conception, to 
carry any resulting fetus, and to relinquish to 
the intended parents the custody of and 
parental rights to any resulting child. 

Intended Parents 
Legal Representative 

Surrogacy Consent forms.   Application and/or written request, $10 
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID. 

Court Ordered 
Changes JCO 

Court order authorizing the Office of Vital 
Records to amend a specific item(s) on a vital 
record. 

Registrant (if legal age) 
Immediate Family 
Legal Representative 

Requires a certified copy of the Court Order, Copy of the petition.  
Application and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification 
Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.   
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