

## COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OF A BIRTH RECORD

FOR OVR USE ONLY

Virginia statutes require a fee of \$12.00 be charged for each certification of a vital record or for a search of the files when no certification is made. Please make check or money order payable to State Health Department. There is a \$50.00 service charge for returned checks.

**IMPORTANT:** The person requesting the vital record must submit an enlarged, legible (readable) and clear photocopy of their identification.

REQUESTER INFORMATION					DAYTIME PHONE	NUMBER				
NAME OF REQUESTER (Person completing this application) EMAIL (Include to receive updates about your application)										
NAME OF BUSINESS, if applicable					Check this box to receive text notifications.					
							s may apply. (For cell			
ADDRESS			С	ITY		STATE	ZIP CODE		phone numbers only	)
WHAT IS YOUR RELATI					] ADULT CHI	LD C	URRENT SPOUSE [		rsister 🗌 adul	T BROTHER
MATERNAL GRAND	PARENT	] PATERNAL G	RANDPARENT	LEGAL GUA	ARDIAN <i>(Sub</i>	omit custo	dy paper) 🗌 ОТН	ER (Speci	fy)	
		-					··· · · <u>—</u>			
WHAT IS YOUR REASO	N FOR REQU	ESTING THIS C	RTIFICATE?							
			(5.5	BIRTH CERT					Special Use Birth Cert	i <b>ficate (<i>Long Form</i>)</b> ed by Standard Birth Certificate
Diamas Charles	🗌 Birth Cei	tificato		nition of certifi			•	Pi	rocessing Time is Significat	
Please Check:				of Foreign Birth		iyea Birth F	Registration Certificate		·····	
	ed Birth cial Use	NAME AT BIF	IH (first)		(middle)		(las	st)	(suj	(fix)
If name has changed since birth due to adoption, court order or any reason other than marriage, please list changed name here.         (first)       (middle)       (last)       (suffix)										
DATE OF BIRTH	PLACE OF	BIRTH (city or co	unty in Virginia)	HOSPI	TAL OF BIRT	H (if any)				SEX 🗌 MALE
FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER or PARENT ONE: (first)       (middle)       (last)       (suffix)       (maiden name if any)										
FULL NAME OF FATHER OR PARENT TWO:     (first)     (middle)     (last)     (suffix)     (maiden name if any)										
Is an amendment/correction needed? YES NO If YES, enter amendment code from the reverse side. Amendment Code:										
I understand that making a FALSE application for a vital record is a FELONY under state and federal law. I certify and affirm that all information on this form is true and										
correct. X SIGNATURE OF REQUESTER: UNSIGNED APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PRO					<u>T BE PROCESSED.</u>					
A SIGNALONE OF	LQULJIE	.n								

Submit one (1) document from the primary list <u>OR</u> two (2) documents from the secondary list. The State Registrar reserves the right (§32.1-271C) to accept or deny any application submitted. The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice. <u>Acceptable secondary identifications are listed on the back.</u>

	ACCEPTABLE PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION LIST						
1.	. Photo Driver's License issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired or		Learners/Instruction Permit issue by U.S. state, territory or jurisdiction (unexpired or				
	expired for not more than one year)		expired for not more than one year)				
3.	Photo Identification Card issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired	4.	Current Photo Identification Card - (school or employment with identification number;				
	or expired for not more than one year)		check cashing cards are not acceptable)				
5.	Unexpired U.S. Military Card of an active duty or retired member	6.	U.S. Passport or passport card - unexpired				
7.	Unexpired Foreign Passport with Visa, I-94 or I-94W	8.	U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (form N-550, N-570, N-578)				
9.	US Certificate of Citizenship (form N-560, N-561)	10.	U.S. Citizen Identification Card (form I-197)				
11.	Temporary Resident Card (unexpired form I-688)	12.	Employment Authorization Document (unexpired form I-766)				
13.	Refugee Travel Document (unexpired form I-571)	14.	Resident Alien Card (unexpired form I-551)				
15.	Permanent Resident Card (unexpired form I-551)	16.	Northern Marianas Card (unexpired form I-551)				
17.	Asylum – A copy of the first and last page of application for Asylum	18.	Consular Report of Birth Abroad (form FS-240)				
19.	Certification of Report of Birth of a U.S. citizen (DS-1350)	20.	Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form				
21.	U.S. Probation Offender Information Form	22.	Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545)				

Please indicate the address you wish the certificate(s) mailed to in the box below Please type or print clear	ly.
NAME	
ADDRESS	

Send Completed Application To: Office of Vital Records P. O. Box 1000 Richmond, VA 23218-1000

Contact Information: (804) 662-6200 www.vdh.virginia.gov/vital-records/

VS6B-07/20

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE

ACCEPTABLE SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION LIST					
23.	3. U.S. Selective Service Card		U.S. Military Discharge Papers (form DD214)		
25.	5. Certified School Records/Transcript issued by a U.S. state or territory		Certificate of Enrollment issued by Virginia Department of Education		
27.	Life insurance policy	28.	Health care insurance card – (i.e. Medicare Card, Medicaid Card)		
29.	Unexpired Welfare/Social Services identification card with photo issued by municipality	30.	State issued driver's license or learner's/instruction permit with photo; expired not more than 5 years		
31.	State issued photo identification card - expired not more than 5 years	32.	U.S. Passport or passport card - expired not more than 5 years		
33.	Unexpired Military Dependent I.D. card with photo	34.	Foreign Passport - expired not more than 5 years with a U.S. VISA		
35.	Unexpired weapon or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal government	36.	Unexpired pilot license		
37.	Veteran's Universal Access Identification Card	38.	INS form I-797 (applicable only for the individual whose name appears on the form)		
39.	USCIS student or dependent SEVIS I-20 with or without USCIS stamp (Applicant's name must appear on the form)	40.	U.S. Department of State form DS-2019 (Applicant's name must appear on the form)		

## **Definition of Certificate Types**

Birth Certificate (Short Form): Standard Birth Certificate needed in a vast majority of situations. An abstract of the Certificate of Live Birth. Accepted by all local, state and federal agencies including passport and social security offices. Also accepted by schools, social and civic organizations.

**Certificate of Foreign Birth**: A birth certificate established for a child born in a foreign country and adopted by parents who were Virginia residents at the time of the adoption. **Delayed Birth Registration Certificate**: A birth certificate established for an individual who birth certificate was not recorded at the time of birth.

Special Use Birth Certificate (Long Form): Very limited necessity. This type of request will experience increased processing times. An image copy of the Certificate of Live Birth received from the hospital, birthing facilities or midwife. Commonly requested for Duel Citizenship applications and special genealogy needs.

## Amendment Guidance

Most items (misspelling of the name of the registrant and/or parents, incorrect date and/or place of birth, incorrect ages of parents, incorrect sex of registrant, etc.) on a birth certificate can be corrected either administratively or judicially. There are several provisions outlined in the Code of Virginia and the Regulations Governing Vital Records detailing how a birth certificate can be amended. To properly advise, the Office of Vital Records must review the birth certificate and work cooperatively with the customer.

Amendment Type Amendm Code		Comments	Who can initiate the change	Needed Documents		
Establishment of a post-adoption birth certificate	ment of a ption birth ADP To establish a birth certificate for a Virginia born child that has been adopted		Registrant (if legal age) Adoptive Parents Legal Representative	Final Order of Adoption and Report of Adoption form certified by the Court that finalized the adoption. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Establishment of Certificate of Foreign Birth	CFB	To establish a birth certificate for a child born in a foreign country and adopted by parents who were Virginia residents at the time of the adoption.	Registrant (if legal age) Adoptive Parents Legal Representative	If the child was re-adopted in Virginia, a certified copy of the Report of Adoption form is needed. If the child was not re-adopted in Virginia a certified copy of the Foreign Adoption Order, a certified copy of the translated Final Order of Adoption in English, Home Study report, copy of the adopted child's United States Passport that shows the Immigrant Visa, proof of Virginia residency for the adoptive parent(s) at the time of adoption. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Amending inaccuracies on a birth certificate	AMD	There are several provisions outlined in the Code of Virginia and the Regulations Governing Vital Records detailing how a birth certificate can be amended. To properly advise, the Office of Vital Records must review the birth certificate.	Registrant (if legal age) Immediate Family Legal Representative	A written request detailing the item to be amended on the birth certificate, \$12 fee and requester's ID. The written request should also include the name of the registrant and date and place of birth, parent name as it appears on the birth certificate.		
Change of Gender	COG	Amending the gender on the birth certificate for an individual whose gender has changed based on clinically appropriate treatment.	Registrant (if legal age) Parents Legal Representative	Changing Sex Designation (VS42) form completed by the health care provider from whom the person received clinically appropriate treatment for gender transition. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Paternity Establishment - Acknowledgement of Paternity (AOP) form	AOP	The Acknowledge of Paternity form is used to establish the paternity of a child born out-of- wedlock. If another father's name appears on the birth certificate or the mother was married at the time of the child's birth or 10 months prior to the child's birth, the paternity form cannot be used.	Registrant (if legal age) Parents Legal Representative	Properly completed Acknowledgement of Paternity form. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Paternity Establishment - Court Determination of Paternity	CDT	The paternity of the child has been established by a Court in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Paternity orders granted by states other than Virginia must be domesticated through a Virginia court.	Registrant (if legal age) Parents Legal Representative	Certified copy of the Virginia Order Determining Paternity. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Paternity Establishment - Genetic Test Results (DNA)	DNA	The child's paternity has been established based on genetic test result (DNA). The laboratory determining paternity must be an AABB approved laboratory.	Registrant (if legal age) Parents Legal Representative	Certified copy of the Genetic Test Results, Voluntary Consent Form signed and notarized by father. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Surrogacy Contract	SUR	Is an agreement between intended parents, a surrogate, and her husband, if any, in which the surrogate agrees to be impregnated through the use of assisted conception, to carry any resulting fetus, and to relinquish to the intended parents the custody of and parental rights to any resulting child.	Intended Parents Legal Representative	Surrogacy Consent forms. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		
Court Ordered Changes	JCO	Court order authorizing the Office of Vital Records to amend a specific item(s) on a vital record.	Registrant (if legal age) Immediate Family Legal Representative	Requires a certified copy of the Court Order, Copy of the petition. Application and/or written request, \$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (\$12 per copy) and Requester's ID.		