Home Care Organization
Initial Application Checklist


In addition to the Home Care Organization Application, you will also need to submit the following information to our office for review:

1. $500.00 application fee
1. List of Governing Body Board Members and Meeting minutes. This includes the names & titles of board members, and meeting minutes that involve the start-up of this organization.
1. Administrator job description, including requirements of 12VAC5-381-170
1. Administrator qualification – resume, license if applicable
1. Director of Nursing job description
1. Director of Nursing qualifications – resume and license
1. Copy of “Clients Rights” policy and rights per regulation 12VAC5-381-230
1. Evidence of office occupancy
1. Copy of the SCC agreement (Recommended but not required)
1. Copy of the business license or zoning clearance (Recommended but not required)
1. Copy of the business plan and budget
1.  Evidence of Professional Liability up to the amount of $2.4 million per occurrence per state regulation. Coverage amounts increase on July 1st of every calendar  year. The code of Virginia (8.01-581.15) required limitations can be found on the “Code of Virginia” website: http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-581.15/ 
1.  Evidence of General Liability in the amount of $1 million.
1.  Third-party crime insurance or a blanket fidelity bond of $50,000 minimum. 
1. Copy of “Emergency Preparedness Plan” for identifying/documenting  patients with high acuity risk during weather or disaster emergencies, as specified in 12VAC5-381-150: K






[bookmark: Check11]|_|  Application & $ 500.00 fee
[bookmark: Check17]
|_|  List of Governing Body Members & Meeting Minutes
	
|_|  Job Description: 
|_|  Administrator			|_|  Nursing Director		

|_|  Qualifications:
	|_|  Administrator – Required		|_|  Nursing Director (if applicable)	


|_|  Copy “Client Rights Policies		|_| Evidence of Office Occupancy

|_|  Copy of SCC agreement (Inc., LLC, etc)		Recommended by not required on application	

|_|  Local Business Permit and/or Zoning Clearance	Recommended by not required on application

|_|  Copy of Business Plan 
[bookmark: Check14]
[bookmark: Check15][bookmark: _GoBack]|_|  General Liability (1 million comprehensive) 
|_| Third Party Insurance ($50,000 min.)
|_| Malpractice (2.4 million per occurrence)
[bookmark: Check2]	
|_|  Copy of the Organizations “Emergency Preparedness Plan”	



The requested information can be mailed to our office to:
Home Care & Hospice Unit. 
Office of Licensure and Certification
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401
Henrico, VA 23233

Please identify the name of the facility on all correspondence. After the review of the requested information, you will be sent a follow-up notice advising you of the application status and your next step in the licensure process. For any questions please call 804-367-2132.

The HCO licensure regulations can be found on our website www.vdh.virginia.gov/olc under the “Laws and Regulations” section “Home Care”.
2

