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March 31, 2021 
 

INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  All Home Care Organizations licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 
 
FROM: Kimberly F. Beazley 

Director, Office of Licensure and Certification 
 
SUBJECT: Licensure Renewal Notice 

 
 

All current Home Care Organization (HCO) licenses will expire on July 31, 2021. To renew your 
existing HCO license, download the renewal application from the Office of Licensure and Certification 
(OLC) website at  https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/licensure-and-certification/applications-and-forms/. 
Instructions for completion are provided on the application. Applications must be submitted on the current 
version of the application, located on the OLC website. OLC must receive the completed application 
and renewal fee ($500.00) no later than 5:00 pm on June 1, 2021. An additional $50.00 late fee will be 
assessed for: 

 applications received after 5:00 pm on June 1, 2021; and 

 incomplete applications received that have not been completed by 5:00 pm on June 1, 2021. 
 
The OLC is currently closed to the public due to the public health emergency. Therefore the OLC is only 
accepting mailed applications.  
 
Renewal application will not be accepted after July 31, 2021. Failure to renew on or before July 31, 
2021 will result in a terminated license. Once a license is terminated, the HCO must reapply for an initial 
license. Any person or entity owning or operating an HCO without a license is guilty of a Class 6 felony 
pursuant to Va. Code § 32.1-162.15, and the OLC may refer the matter for criminal prosecution and any 
other penalties allowed under the law. 
 
All HCOs must correctly report any operator, ownership, office location (including new or existing branch 
office locations) or business name changes since its last license was issued. Each change requires a $250 
fee, which is in addition to any renewal fee or late fee. OLC will issue the renewed license based on the 
information provided on the renewal application. Any license that must be reissued because of inaccurate 
information will be assessed an additional $250.00 reissuance fee. 
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An HCO renewal license will not be issued until a complete and accurate renewal application and 
appropriate fee(s) have been received and the OLC has reviewed and approved the renewal application. 
Renewal applications will be processed chronologically, according to the final date of receipt of all requisite 
information. 
 
If you can demonstrate that your HCO qualifies for an exemption from licensure under Va. Code § 32.1-
162.8, you may file an Application for Licensure Exemption. An exemption, once granted, exempts the 
HCO from submitting renewal applications and biennial compliance inspections.  HCOs previously 
approved for payment for the Personal Care & Respite waiver services by the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will no longer qualify for exemption from licensure. 
 
All HCOs must maintain compliance with 12VAC5-381-150(F) by posting their current license for public 
inspection. It is every HCO licensee’s responsibility to know and abide by Article 7.1 (§ 32.1-162.7 et seq.) 
of Chapter 5 of the Code of Virginia, 12VAC5-381-10 et seq., and any other laws, regulations, orders, and 
guidance that pertain to HCOs owned or operated in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Links to Article 7.1 
(§ 32.1-162.7 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-381-10 et seq. are available at 
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/licensure-and-certification/statutes-regulations-and-guidance/. 
 
If you have any questions or concerns regarding renewal of HCO licensure, please contact OLC at (804) 
367-2132. Thank you for your cooperation and assistance during the licensure renewal period. 
 
 

THIS INFORMATIONAL MEMORANDUM EXPIRES AT 11:59 P.M. ON JULY 31, 2021. 
 


