
 
 News Release

 

109 Governor Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219 ● www.vdh.virginia.gov 
 

 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE       June 29, 2007 
For More Information Contact       VDH 07-00 
Charles Ford, Communications, (804)-864-7668 
Tobey Anne Allen, Injury Prevention, (804) 864-7747 
 

NETWORK OF SAFETY SEAT INSPECTIONS SITES PROTECTS CHILD PASSENGERS 
New Virginia Child Restraint Laws Become Effective July 1 

 
 (Richmond, Va.) – Beginning July 1, parents and caregivers will be required by law to secure 

their children properly while riding in a vehicle, at least until the child’s eighth birthday.  To help parents adjust 
to the upcoming mandates, health officials are reaching out to parents to educate them about the type of safety 
restraints necessary for each stage of childhood, from infancy to elementary school age.   

 
Four out of five children under age 8 in Virginia are riding in safety seats that are improperly installed.  

To help reduce the threat this poses and increase the number of properly installed seats, the Virginia Department 
of Health (VDH) has developed a network of inspection sites across Virginia where certified technicians will 
inspect safety seats for free and teach parents how to install and use them correctly. 
 

“Of the fourteen deaths to child passengers under age 6 in Virginia in 2006, 5 were riding in improperly 
installed safety seats and 7 were not secured at all,” said State Health Commissioner Robert B. Stroube, M.D., 
M.P.H.  “We hope the availability of the local inspection sites will encourage parents and caregivers to find the 
site nearest them and have their child’s safety seat inspected.”  

 
A recent study by Safe Kids Worldwide reports that properly installed and correctly used safety seats 

decrease the risk of death by 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for toddlers.  The report also found that 
parents retained their safety seat installation knowledge six weeks after receiving hands-on instruction at a safety 
seat clinic, and that 45 percent more seats were installed properly at a second safety check clinic than at the first. 

 
As children grow, their requirements in safety seats change. To help keep kids safe, VDH injury 

prevention experts offer parents the following tips: 
 

• Always keep infants up to age 1 and at least twenty pounds in a rear-facing seat in the back seat.  
• Use forward-facing seats in the back seat for toddlers until they outgrow the weight and height 

limits labeled on the safety seat, which usually occurs when the child is about age 4.  
 
Toddlers should never go directly from a safety seat into adult seat belts.  Research from Partners for 

Child Safety demonstrated that the risk of injury for children ages 4 through 7 decreases by 59 percent when they 
ride in booster seats versus seat belts alone.  Children should use booster seats in the back seat from about age 4 
until the child reaches age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall.  After that, children should “buckle up,” using safety belts in 
the back seat. Kids under twelve years old should ride in the back seat. 

 
Also, rear-facing safety seats must be placed in the back seat of a vehicle, and children can no longer ride 

unrestrained in the rear cargo area of vehicles.   
 

 
(more) 



 
 
Currently, there are 108 safety seat inspection sites in Virginia located mainly at fire, police and rescue 

stations. “We are working to increase the number of sites, especially in the Northern and Southside regions of 
the state,” said Tobey Anne Allen, VDH’s child passenger safety seat coordinator. Agencies that join the VDH 
network receive start-up supplies and guidance from the health department and are eligible for mini grants from 
VDH to buy safety seats and other equipment. 

 
VDH provides free safety seats to families who otherwise could not afford them.  More than 90,000 

safety seats have been distributed since VDH’s Low Income Safety Seat Program began in 1996. Seats are 
available at more than 130 distribution sites across the state.   

 
A list of safety seat inspection sites, information about the free safety seat program and complete 

information on the new child restraint law are on the VDH Web site at www.vahealth.org/civp/safetyseat/. Or 
you can call toll free (800) 732-8333. 
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