June 19, 2013

Gainesville, Va. – The Northern Virginia Emergency Medical Services Council, Inc., recognized Emergency Medical Service (EMS) excellence during the council’s regional awards ceremony June 13, 2013, at Fairfax Station 40 in Fairfax, Va.

“These award recipients demonstrate outstanding dedication and service to the multifaceted and diverse EMS system in the Northern Virginia region,” said Melinda Duncan, executive director of the Northern Virginia EMS Council.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards compete for the 2013 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 10, in Norfolk, Va. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“The Regional EMS Awards program gives each council the opportunity to showcase the remarkable acts of service demonstrated by their local EMS providers. Congratulations, and thank you, to this year’s recipients who have proven their excellence by going above and beyond the call of duty,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2013 Northern Virginia EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Todd E. Lupton, City of Manassas Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator – Stephen McGraw, Prince William County Dept. of Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Medocracy, Inc., Fairfax, Va.
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior – Ryan Patrick Boehret, Leesburg Volunteer Fire Company