June 19, 2013

Fredericksburg, Va. – The Rappahannock Emergency Medical Services Council, Inc., recognized the dedication and commitment shown by its Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel at the council’s regional awards ceremony held May 30, 2013, at the Rappahannock United Way in Fredericksburg, Va.

“It’s a great privilege and honor to highlight the accomplishments of individuals in the EMS community. It’s one of the small tributes that we can give to support their dedicated service,” said Wayne Perry, executive director of the Rappahannock EMS Council. “The Rappahannock EMS Council is proud to recognize outstanding providers throughout the region with our annual awards program, andto support the members and contributors who comprise our regional EMS system.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards compete for the 2013 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 10, in Norfolk, Va. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“The Regional EMS Awards program gives each council the opportunity to showcase the remarkable acts of service demonstrated by their local EMS providers. Congratulations, and thank you, to this year’s recipients who have proven their excellence by going above and beyond the call of duty,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2013 Rappahannock EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Chris Eudailey, Spotsylvania County Department of Fire, Rescue, and Emergency Management
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Wayne Perry, Rappahannock Emergency Medical Services Council
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Provider – James B. Hurlock, Jr., Richardsville Volunteer Fire Department & Rescue Squad
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Dr. Scott Ottolini, Mary Washington Hospital
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator – Sharon Allen¸ Mary Washington Hospital
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Steve Dove, Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Matthew Tanner, Lifecare Medical Transports, Inc.
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Rappahannock Critical Incident Stress Management Team, Planning District 16
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Pamela Scholl, Spotsylvania Regional Medical Center
  • Outstanding EMS Agency –Orange County Fire and EMS
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship)Noah Strobel, Fredericksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad, James Monroe High School