August 16, 2016

For More Information Contact

Heidi Hooker, executive director
Old Dominion EMS Alliance

Tristen Graves, public relations assistant
Virginia Department of Health

(RICHMOND, Va.) –  The Old Dominion Emergency Medical Services Alliance (ODEMSA) recognized its regional EMS personnel for their superior level of service provided to the community, Aug. 6, at the Metro Richmond Zoo in Richmond. The council presented awards to winners nominated for their high achievements in the field.

“Winners are recognized, by their peers, for their exceptional contributions made to the Virginia EMS system. The awards are a small token of appreciation for everything they do to enhance prehospital patient care in the region,” said Heidi Hooker, executive director of Old Dominion EMS Alliance.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2016 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 12 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“I am honored to acknowledge the remarkable level of service and dedication shown by these regional award winners,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS. “Their commitment to providing lifesaving patient care to the citizens in their community make them worthy of such recognition.”

The 2016 Old Dominion EMS Alliance Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – Anthony Harbour, Goochland Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Brad Owens, Prince George Fire and EMS
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Richmond Ambulance Authority
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children – Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads
  • Outstanding EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response ­– Ken Clark, Virginia Department of Emergency Management
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety – John Tyler Community College- Department of EMS Education
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Robin Manke, R.N., VCU Health
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Frank Chinn, Goochland County Department of Fire-Rescue & Emergency Services
  • Outstanding EMS Provider – Steve White, Stony Creek Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician Boyd Wickizer, M.D., Southside Regional Medical Center
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Ben Gomes, Richmond Ambulance Authority
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Cameron von Kannewruff, Tuckahoe Volunteer Rescue Squad