July 15, 2016

For More Information Contact

Cathy Cockrell, education program director
Western Virginia EMS Council, Inc.

Tristen Graves, public relations assistant
Virginia Department of Health

(ROANOKE, Va.) – The Western Virginia Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. paid tribute to its regional EMS personnel for their selfless acts of service at the council’s annual awards ceremony, June 23, at the Vinton War Memorial. Regional award winners were nominated by their peers for their high level of achievements in the EMS field.

“This year’s award nominees were well-qualified and so good at what they do. The choices were difficult, but in the end, well-deserving winners were chosen,” said Rob Logan, executive director of the Western Virginia EMS Council.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2016 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, Nov. 12 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

“I am honored to acknowledge the remarkable level of service and dedication shown by these regional award winners,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS. “Their commitment to providing lifesaving patient care to citizens in their community make them worthy of such recognition.”

The 2016 Western Virginia EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

  • Excellence in EMS – William “Bill” Duff, Roanoke County Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Wayne Guffey, Vinton First Aid Crew
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Cave Spring First Aid and Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Preparedness and Response – Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Darrell VanNess, Carilion Clinic
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator – Grey Smith, Roanoke County Fire and Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Provider – Louisa Gay, Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician (Dr. Cheryl B. Hass Award) Carol A. Bernier, D.O, Carilion Clinic
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Karen Vaughn, Martinsville-Henry County 911
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 Scholarship) – Bradley M. Hancock, Ridgeway District Volunteer Rescue Squad

Special Recognition:

  • Benny Summerlin Award for Service to Local Government – James L. Cady, Sr., Craig County Emergency Services