March 29, 2019
For More Information Contact:
Kathryn Goodman TJHD Public Information Officer (434) 270-4802
(Charlottesville, Va.) – The Thomas Jefferson Health District is working with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to help people update their identification records to comply with the REAL ID Act that passed by Congress in 2005. On Wednesday, April 3, 2019, DMV Connect Services will be offered at the Charlottesville/Albemarle Health Department from 2:00 to 6:00 p.m. During this time, the Health Department’s Environmental Health office will remain open for people to easily get copies of vital records (birth, marriage, divorce, and death certificates) that may be required to complete the REAL ID process or other DMV services.
DMV Connect and vital record services will be offered first come, first serviced through building entrance #3 at the Charlottesville/Albemarle Health Department located at 1138 Rose Hill Drive, Charlottesville, Va.
DMV Connect will offer full DMV services (both vehicle and ID services), including REAL IDs. The REAL ID Act was passed by Congress in 2005 and requires people to have an updated/more secure driver’s license and ID card for specific purposes, including entering a federal facility or traveling by commercial airline. The deadline for compliance is October 2020 and the DMV is ramping up efforts to help citizens get their new license. The documents needed to apply for a REAL ID are readily accessible to Virginians and are similar to those needed when many applied for their original Virginia driver’s license or ID. For a list of acceptable documents, visit www.dmvNOW.com/REALID.
Birth, marriage, and divorce certificates are available at the Health Department if the event occurred in Virginia. Death certificates can be filed, and certified copies can be obtained, at any health department in Virginia, regardless of where the death occurred. If it is less than 30 days since the filing of the death, people can only get a copy of the death certificate from the city/county where it was originally filed. Each certificate and/or search of a vital record is $12.00. To learn more about vital records, call the Health Department at 434-972-6219 or visit www.TJHD.org.