Naloxone - General Public

Where can I get naloxone?

You may be able to get naloxone at your local pharmacy or through your doctor or healthcare provider.

Additionally, many local health districts and community services boards dispense naloxone at REVIVE! training events, during walk-in clinic hours, and at other community events.

Do I need a prescription to get naloxone?

Yes, but naloxone is available under the State Health Commissioner's standing order. The standing order serves as a prescription written for the general public, rather than specifically for an individual.

It is up to each individual pharmacy to decide whether to dispense naloxone under the statewide standing order. Please contact your pharmacy before visiting.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved Narcan 4mg nasal spray for over-the-counter (OTC) use on March 29, 2023. This OTC product requires label changes and is not yet available from the manufacturer. The timeline for availability and prices is determined by the manufacturer. The manufacturer, Emergent BioSolutions, indicates that OTC Narcan will become available by the late summer.

Is naloxone free?

No. The out-of-pocket cost ranges from $70 to $150 for a two-dose kit. Some insurance plans may pay some portion of the cost, but coverage varies widely. Check with your local health district or community services board to determine if you can get naloxone at no cost.

Naloxone - Community Partners

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) and the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) share the common goal of increasing access to naloxone. 

Community services boards, local health departments, authorized comprehensive harm reduction sites, approved naloxone partners, law enforcement agencies, fire service organizations, licensed emergency medical services (EMS) agencies, and public schools are eligible to obtain prescription naloxone at no-cost. Eligibility criteria are subject to change. For directions to obtain no-cost naloxone, see the forms below.

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police (VACP) partners with VDH and DBHDS to provide no-cost naloxone and REVIVE! Opioid Overdose and Naloxone Education (OONE) training to first responders. First responders must complete a REVIVE! for First Responders training in order to obtain no-cost naloxone. Please visit the VACP First Responder Naloxone Website for more information about this required training.

All naloxone nasal spray, including brand Narcan, that has been distributed by the Virginia Department of Health is still a prescription product. If you have received no-cost Narcan from VDH, it is still required to dispense the product in accordance with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy Naloxone protocol, which includes utilizing the Statewide Standing Order for Naloxone.

Fentanyl test strips, xylazine test strips, and benzodiazepine test strips are also available to local health departments and authorized comprehensive harm reduction sites. To order test strips for harm reduction purposes, please use the naloxone order link below.

Naloxone and Test Strip Ordering Process for Eligible Community Partners

Step 1: Apply

Use this form to APPLY if it is the first time your organization has requested naloxone OR if your organization’s agreement with VDH has expired. Once all signatures are obtained and the agreement is executed, the organization is responsible for ensuring the agreement is updated before expiration date.

To renew an existing agreement, please contact

Step 2: Order

Use this form to ORDER after your organization has a fully-executed agreement with the Virginia Department of Health for provision of naloxone.

If you are unsure whether your organization has an executed agreement or if an agreement is still active, please contact

Step 3: Report

Please use this tool to REPORT required Naloxone Activity Tracker metrics (this includes the report for monthly naloxone dispensed/administered at your location and the annual naloxone inventory report). 

Step 4: Return

Please use this form to RETURN expired, unused, or damaged naloxone to the Virginia Department of Health. Sites are required to return expired, unused, or damaged naloxone kits and may not distribute them to other organizations.

Additional Resources

Learn more about opioid addiction in Virginia at the VDH Data Portal.

Opens pdf to download

Opens document to download

Opens in a new window

External link will open in new window.  Click link to exit Virginia Department of Health Website.