About Us

The Roanoke City and Alleghany Health Districts (RCAHD) are two health districts in the Commonwealth of Virginia under the Virginia Department of Health and employ approximately 140 staff (approximately 120 full-time).

RCAHD encompasses the cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem and the counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, and Roanoke.

RCAHD, which provides services from nine office locations, serves a combined population of over 278,400 throughout both rural and urban environments and works to promote and encourage healthy behavior, protect the public against environmental hazards, prevent epidemics and the spread of disease, respond to disasters, assist communities in recovery and assure the quality and accessibility of health services for all members of the communities.

Contact Us:

Roanoke City Health District: (540) 283-5050

Hours of Operation:
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday