Western Tidewater Health District


Angela Tillery, MBA, is the new District Director for the Western Tidewater Health District. WTHD covers Suffolk, Isle of Wight, Franklin City, and Southampton localities.  Angela Tillery brings a wealth of experience to her new role.  She has 32 years of service to the Commonwealth.  She has over 20 years of leadership experience with VDH.  Prior to coming back to Western Tidewater Health District, she was the Assistant Deputy Commissioner for Community Health Services.  In addition, she served as a District Business Manager for the Western Tidewater Health District from 2006 to 2020. 

 In addition to her exemplary service to VDH, Angela also worked at the Virginia Employment Commission and played a leadership role in operating a federally qualified community health center.  Angela received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business from Virginia Tech.  She furthered her education and obtained a Master of Business Administration Degree from Troy State University.  Angela is excited to return back to Western Tidewater in her new role and she looks forward to continuing to foster community partnerships and promoting the health and well-being of our citizens.

Everyone in Virginia Age 6 months or Older Is Eligible for the COVID-19 Vaccine
Now! Pre-Registration is No Longer Required! You can schedule your own

Check vaccines.gov for a convenient location with our community
pharmacies and medical provider partners.

For Phone assistance, please call 877-VAX-in-VA (877-829-4682), Mon-Fri
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The call center can help you schedule an appointment,
answer questions about vaccination and other COVID-19 topics, and more.
Assistance is available in English, Spanish, and more than 100 additional
languages. Video assistance in American Sign Language is available at

The general operating hours
at our locations are
Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

The mission of the Western Tidewater Health District is to protect the health and promote the well-being of all people in Western Tidewater. The district team proudly supports Isle of Wight County, Southampton County, and the independent cities of Franklin and Suffolk in southeastern Virginia.