Tuberculosis

The mission of the Tuberculosis (TB) Program is to control, prevent, and eventually eliminate TB from the Commonwealth of Virginia. The program aims to detect every case of TB in Virginia, assure that every case is adequately and completely treated, and prevent transmission of TB in communities.


VDH World TB Day 2024 - March 22, 2024, 2-4pm

  • Special topic - Preventing Tuberculosis from Globetrotting: Exploring Travel Policies and Processes
    • Featuring Helen MacGregor from the Division of Global Migration Health (DGMH)
  • Register here

 

 


2023 Local TB Counts and Rates Now Available

Please use these data to assist you in completing facility assessments. Please remember that rates in geographic areas with a small number of cases can be statistically unreliable. If using this data for a facility assessment, considering using health district level data if you are located in a small city or county. Please contact laura.r.young@vdh.virginia.gov and leah.breitung@vdh.virginia.gov with additional data questions and requests.

2019-2023 Local TB Counts and Rates (Updated 02/16/2024)


Humanitarian Parolee Programs

Please see the new Humanitarian Parolee Programs page, which includes new media/communications materials, as well as reporting forms for local health district staff.


Latent Tuberculosis Infection Treatment and Opioid Use

A one page guidance note is available summarizing the NTCA Testing and Treatment of LTBI Clinical Recommendation Guidance as it relates to LTBI treatment in the context of opioid use. The document is available in the treatment section of the LTBI page and directly here.


Contact

TB Main Phone Number: 804-864-7906
TB Program Fax Number:  804-416-5178
TB E-mail: tuberculosis@vdh.virginia.gov


Direct Program Contacts

Marshall VogtMarshall Vogt
TB Program Manager
Phone
: 804-396-0562
E-mail: marshall.vogt@vdh.virginia.gov


Adwoa SamAdwoa Sam
TB Nurse Consultant
Phone
: 804-221-1213
E-mail: adwoa.sam@vdh.virginia.gov


Amy Beahm
TB Nurse Consultant
Phone
: 804-347-5712
E-mail: amy.beahm@vdh.virginia.gov


Laura YoungLaura Young
TB Epidemiologist/Surveillance Coordinator
Phone
: 804-836-6059
E-mail: laura.r.young@vdh.virginia.gov


Leah BreitungLeah Breitung
Surveillance Epidemiologist/IJN Coordinator
Phone
: 804-773-8971
E-mail: leah.breitung@vdh.virginia.gov


Jane TingleyJane Tingley
LTBI Projects and Engagement Coordinator
Phone
: 804-664-4758
E-mail: jane.tingley@vdh.virginia.gov


Donna Asby-GreenDonna Asby-Green
TB Data Registrar
Phone
: 804-773-8972
E-mail: donna.asby-green@vdh.virginia.gov


Jasie HearnJasie Hearn
Division of Clinical Epidemiology Director
Phone
: 804-551-1190
E-mail: jasie.hearn@vdh.virginia.gov


Debbie ClaytonDebbie Clayton
DCE Administrative Office Specialist
Phone
: 804-613-8805
E-mail: deborah.clayton@vdh.virginia.gov


Opens pdf to download

Opens document to download

Opens in a new window

External link will open in new window.  Click link to exit Virginia Department of Health Website.