Certified copies of birth, marriage and divorce certificates can be obtained from the Mount Rogers Health District health departments for any of these events as long as they occurred in Virginia. Copies of certificates can be obtained for and are available to immediate family members only – mother, father, husband, wife, child, brother, sister and grandparents with valid ID. Birth records can be issued to the legal guardian with proof of custody papers. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, etc. cannot obtain a Vital Record. The fee for a vital record is $12.00 for each certificate, copy and/or search of a Vital Record. Cash, check, money orders, VISA or MasterCard are accepted.
All Vital Records can also be obtained from the Virginia Department of Health, Division of Vital Records, P.O. Box 1000, Richmond, VA 23218. The general information number is 804-662-6200.
Copies of marriage licenses can also be obtained from your county Clerk’s Office.
Death certificates can be filed at and certified copies obtained from any local department in the State of Virginia, regardless of where the death occurred. However, if it has been less than 30 days since the filing of death, then the death certificate must be obtained from the city or county in which the death was originally filed. Certified copies of death certificates are available upon request to those persons eligible to receive them. These certificates are $12.00 per copy.