Ways to obtain a vital record:
2023 State Holiday Closures
January 16 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
February 20– George Washington Day
May 29 – Memorial Day
June 19 – Juneteenth
July 4 – Independence Day
October 9 – Columbus Day & Yorktown Victory Day
November 7 – Election Day
November 10 – Veterans Day (Observed)
November 22 – Half Day Before Thanksgiving
December 22 – Half Day Additional Holiday Time
December 25 – Christmas
January 2 (2024) – New Year’s (Observed)
COVID-19 Funeral Assistant Program
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has offered a COVID-19 Funeral Assistance Program to eligible applicants to help pay funeral expenses associated with COVID-19 related deaths. For more information, visit the FEMA website or the Virginia Department of Emergency Management website (scroll down to Funeral Assistance).
Office of Vital Records
The Office of Vital Records customer service lobby located at 2001 Maywill Street, Suite # 101 Richmond, Virginia 23230, is open for walk-in customers from Monday - Friday 7:00am to 4:30pm. The Office of Vital Records has a new, fully online system that will allow you to apply for a vital record, pay for it, and receive updates. Click here to open the new system. For questions or general information, contact our Call Center at (804) 662-6200. It is open Monday - Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm.
Customers may drop off a completed application for a vital record at the front desk. This can be mailed by Post Office mail to a given address or the applicant can be informed by phone when the certificate is ready for pick-up. The pick-up requests must be received no later than 2:00pm and will only be released to the requester. Acceptable applications must include the following:
- Requester’s signature.
- Legible photocopy of the requester’s ID.
- Fee of $12 for each requested copy by check, money order, payment card, mobile pay, or cash. Checks and Money Orders should be completed, signed, and made payable to: State Health Department.
- This option is not available for amendments, name changes, or corrections.
Requests dropped off after 2:00pm will be considered received the next business day.
Notice Regarding REAL ID
Enactment of the REAL ID law has been pushed back to May 7, 2025. For more information regarding the requirements for Virginia's REAL ID, please visit the DMV Website.
Birth records become public information 100 years after the date of the event. Death, marriage, and divorce records become public information 25 years after the event. Vital records are available to immediate family members only: mother, father, spouse, child, brother, sister, and grandparents with valid identification. Birth records can be issued to a legal guardian with proof of custody. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, and any other person cannot obtain a person’s vital record.
VDH, Office of Vital Records
P.O. Box 1000
General Information Number: 804-662-6200 (8:00am - 4:30pm M - F)
Any person requesting a Vital Record must provide a legible copy of their identification (see ID Requirements).