Contact Us – District Offices

There are four district offices in Virginia’s medical examiner system. When an autopsy is required, it is done in one of these offices.


Central District

400 East Jackson Street
Richmond, VA 23219-3694
Phone: (804) 786-3174
Fax: (804) 371-8595

central office building
Jurisdictions within the Central District
Albemarle County Colonial Heights City Halifax County Mecklenburg County Richmond City
Amelia County Cumberland County Hanover County Middlesex County Richmond County
Appomattox County Dinwiddie County Henrico County Nelson County Spotsylvania County
Brunswick County Emporia City Hopewell City New Kent County Surry County
Buckingham County Essex County King & Queen County Northumberland County Sussex County
Caroline County Fluvanna County King George County Nottoway County Westmoreland County
Charles City County Fredericksburg City King Williams County Petersburg City
Charlotte County Goochland County Lancaster County Powhatan County
Charlottesville City Greene County Louisa County Prince Edward County
Chesterfield County Greensville County Lunenburg County Prince George County As of May 2022


Northern District

10850 Pyramid Place, Suite 121
Manassas, VA 20110
Phone: (703) 530-2600
Fax: (703) 530-0510

northern district office building

Jurisdictions within the Northern District
Alexandria City Fairfax County Madison County Rappahannock County Waynesboro City
Arlington County Falls Church City Manassas City Rockingham County Winchester City
Augusta County Fauquier County Manassas Park Shenandoah County
Clarke County Frederick County Orange County Stafford County
Culpeper County Harrisonburg City Page County Staunton City
Fairfax City Loudoun County Prince William County Warren County As of May 2022


Tidewater District

830 Southampton Ave., Suite 100
Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone: (757) 683-8366
Fax: (757) 683-2589

Tidewater District Office

Jurisdictions within the Tidewater District
Accomack County Hampton City Newport News City Portsmouth City Williamsburg City
Chesapeake City Isle of Wight County Norfolk City Southampton County York County
Franklin City James City County Northampton County Suffolk City
Gloucester County Mathews County Poquoson City Virginia Beach City As of May 2022


Western District

6600 Northside High School Road
Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone: (540) 561-6615
Fax: (540) 561-6619

Jurisdictions within the Western District
Alleghany County Campbell County Giles County Norton City Salem City
Amherst County Carroll County Grayson County Patrick County Scott County
Bath County Craig County Henry County Pittsylvania County Smyth County
Bedford County Covington City Highland County Pulaski County Tazewell County
Bland County Danville City Lee County Radford City Washington County
Botetourt County Dickenson County Lexington City Roanoke City Wise County
Bristol City Floyd County Lynchburg City Roanoke County Wythe County
Buchanan County Franklin County Martinsville City Rockbridge County
Buena Vista City Galax City Montgomery County Russell County As of May 2022